Barnton, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Barnton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnton, Cheshire
Christ Church, Barnton Cheshire.jpg
Christ Church, Barnton Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Northwich PLU
Registration District Northwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1855
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARNTON, a township and a chapelry in Great Budworth parish, Cheshire. The township lies near the Northwestern railway, 2 miles NW of Northwich; and has a post office under that town. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1843. There are three Methodist chapels.  [1]

Barnton Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1843 from Great Budworth Ancient Parish and serving Barnton and Anderton.

Barnton is a civil parish and village in the north-west of England, just outside the town of Northwich, in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire. It lies north and east of the Trent & Mersey Canal which goes through two tunnels (Barnton and Saltersford) to the west of the village.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Barnton Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Barnton Christ Church Parish (1842) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1842-1909
  NONE
1849-1934
  NONE
1843-1916
  NONE
FS BT'S 1874-1896   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1874-1896
  NONE

Barnton All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BARNTON ALL SAINTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1834-1839




To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.

Barnton is a chapelry in Great Budworth parish.

  • Praish Registers: Cheshire Record Office call no.: P126/5230/1-2, P126/5131/1-3, P126/5131/5-9, P126/5231/12-14.
  • Bishop's Transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 19

 Here is a list of Barnton parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms, 1842-1883.
2106920 Items 14 - 15
Baptisms, 1883-1954. Marriages, 1849-1943. Burials, 1843-1916.
2106995
Burials, 1915-1926.
2106996 Item 1
Marriages, 1943-1956.
2356829 Item 1
Bishops Transcripts: Film
Baptisms, 1855-1858, 1874-1876, burials, 1875-1876, baptisms, burials, 1877-1896.
1595462 Item 6
Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Non-Conformist Records: Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Church records for the Mount Tabor United Methodists Church Barnton Marriages,1913-1957  Film  2299417 Items 17 - 19

Church records for the Runcorn Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Barnton 1865-1956 Baptisms, 1865-1941. Marriages, 1939-1956. Film 2299417 Items 20 - 21

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Northwich (1837–1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974–98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
  • Cheshire West (Post 2009)

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barnton on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 29 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:31.
  • This page has been accessed 3,538 times.