Barrow, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.pngCheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Barrow

Guide to Barrow, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barrow, Cheshire
St Bartholomew's Church, Barrow Cheshire.jpg
St Bartholomew's Church, Barrow Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eddisbury
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARROW, is a parish in Great Boughton district, Cheshire; it is on a stream which goes northward to the Mersey, 3½ miles S of Dunham railway station, and 5 ENE of Chester. It includes the townships of Great Barrow and Little Barrow; and its Post Town is Tarvin, under Chester. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Barrow St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cheshire. Other places in the parish include: Great Barrow and Little Barrow.

St Bartholomew's Church, Barrow is in the village of Great Barrow in the civil parish of Barrow, Cheshire, England

A church has been present on this site since at least the reign of Henry II when it was given by Robert de Bachepuz to the Knights Hospitallers of St John who had a preceptory here. It became a parish church during the reign of Queen Elizabeth I. The chancel was built in 1671 for Dean Bridgeman and the tower is dated 1744.

Barrow is a civil parish containing the villages of Great Barrow, Little Barrow and Stamford Bridge. It is situated about 4.5 mi (7 km) east-north-east of Chester, 6 mi (10 km) north-west of Tarporley, and 6 mi (10 km) south of Frodsham.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241237.

Church records

Barrow St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Barrow St Bartholomew Parish (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1681-1844
1681-1906


FS PR's 1596-1909
  NONE
1590-1934
  NONE
1572-1921
  NONE
FS BT'S 1596-1882   NONE
1596-1837
  NONE
1596-1882
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Barrow records at the Cheshire

  • Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office no.: P121/1-5, P121/6160/1-3.
  • Bishop's transcripts, Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 20.

 Here is a list of Barrow parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers: Film
Baptisms, burials, marriages, 1572-1679. Baptisms, burials, marriages, 1681-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1844. Marriages, 1755-1812. Marriages, 1813-1837. Banns, 1824-1907. Burials, 1813-1864. Burials, 1864-1921.
1655852 Items 2 - 9
Baptisms, 1844-2001. Marriages, 1838-1868.
2262784 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, 1868-1983. Banns, 1907-1967.
2262785 Items 1 - 2
Bishops Transcripts: Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1596, 1600-1601, 1604, [2 pages, no dates], 1609-1614, 1617-1618, 1622-1625, 1627-1630, 1634-1635, 1637, [2 pages, no dates], 1667.
1655366 Item 4
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1667-1685, 1690, 1692-1697, 1700, 1699, 1698, 1701-1812, baptisms, burials, 1813, baptisms, marriages, burials,1814-1832, 1834, 1833, 1835-1837, baptisms, burials, 1838-1840, 1845-1847, baptisms, 1851, 1873, baptisms, 1874-1875, burials, 1874-1875, baptisms, burials, 1876-1882.
1655367 Item 1

Non Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Great Boughton (1837–69)
Chester (1870–1937)
West Cheshire (1937–74)
Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 29 Jan 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 21:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,155 times.