Bartestree, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Bartestree, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bartestree, Herefordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Greytree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813; For more records see Dormington
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Dormington
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weston
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARTESTREE, a chapelry, in the parish of Dormington, hundred of Greytree, union and county of Hereford, 4½ miles East of Hereford. [1]

Bartestree is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire see [1]

Bartestree was formed as a chapelry in the Dormington, Herefordshire Ancient Parish however the Parish Church of St James dates from 1888. A map of the parish boundary of Lugwardine with Bartestree is available at A Church Near You. [2] The church building was declared redundant and converted to a private residential development, see [3]

The parish church of St James has been designated as a grade II listed building [4]

The Convent of Our Lady of Charity and Refuge was built in 1863 and closed in 1992 and was subsequently redeveloped as private residential dwellings. The Convent and adjacent disused Roman Catholic church have both been designated, the Convent has been designated as a grade II listed building [5]

The disused Roman Catholic Church of St James which was relocated to a site adjacent to the convent and built to the design of Edward Wlby Pugin has been designated as a grade II* listed building [6] and the English Heritage listing includes a history of the development of the convent for the daughter of the land owner Robert Biddulph Phillips.  

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers reference AF59, BG62  and Bishop's transcripts 1813-1833

AF59/1 Banns and Marriages, 1811 (Also contains banns, 1814, 1823, 1903)

AF59/2 Marriages 1814-1825

BG62/1 Marriages 1844-1891

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bartestree

Census records

census returns for Bartestree 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Bartestree/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 158-161. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,532 times.