Barton County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Barton County

Guide to Barton County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Barton County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Barton County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Great Bend
Courthouse
Barton County Kansas Courthouse.jpg
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Barton County, Kansas Courthouse
1400 Main Street
P.O. Box 1089
Great Bend, Kansas 67530-1089
Phone: 316.793.1870


Contents

County Courthouse

Barton County Courthouse
1400 Main Street; P O Box 1089
Great Bend, Ks 67530
Phone: 316-793-1870

County Clerk has birth and death records 1892-1911
Cemeter records. Register of Deeds has land school
and military discharge records.
Clerk District Court has marriage, probate
and naturalization records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Barton County was created 26 February 1867 from Marion County. County seat: Great Bend [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksbarton.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Lutheran

Albert

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Albert, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Barton County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Barton County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Barton County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Military

1890 Census Veterans Schedules

Despite the destruction of the 1890 Federal Census, a few 1890 Census Veterans Schedules for the city of Great Bend in Barton County survived. They are available on roll 118 of "Special Schedules of the Eleventh Census (1890) Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War" (NARA M123). The schedules list veterans and their widows who served as Union soldiers in the Civil War. For more information on the 1890 Veterans Schedules see Union Census Records.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Barton County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Obituary Index for the Great Bend Tribune 1992-2003 Great Bend, Kansas.  Can be accessed by name and by the date the obituary appeared in the newspaper.  Index gives the Name, obituary date or dates, the town and the age.  Copies can be ordered from the Great Bend Public Library.

Barton County Index of Obituaries & Death Notices 1925-1999.  Includes people that lived in or around Barton County during their lives. Index gives name, year of birth and death. name of newspaper, date of death, and possible other information.

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Barton and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Great Bend Public Library

Great Bend Public Library is a FamilySearch Center. Microforms from the Salt Lake Family History Library may be ordered for use at the library.

Facilities includes two reader/printers for use. One reader also has the capability of emailing or saving images to a flash drive. 

Reference librarians are available for assistance. A Genealogy collection and Kansas Collection provide other research materials for use in the building. Some duplicate items may be borrowed.

Interlibrary Loan services can also be requested. Materials from other libraries around the world can often be located and borrowed for use. If borrowing is not possible, photocopies of specific pages or index pages can be obtained.

Microfilm copies of most Barton County, Kansas, newspapers since the nineteenth century are found at the Library. Other miscellaneous microfilms, microfiche, and CD-Roms provide additional research materials.

GBPL Library Hours

Winter
Summer
Monday 12noon  - 9PM 8:30AM - 6PM
Tuesday
10AM - 9PM
8:30AM - 6PM
Wednesday
10AM - 9PM
8:30AM - 6PM
Thursday
10AM - 9PM
8:30AM - 8PM
Friday
10AM - 5PM
9AM - 5PM
Saturday
10AM - 5PM
9AM - 5PM
Sunday
1PM - 5PM
CLOSED

Family History Centers

Web Sites