Barton County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Barton County
Guide to Barton County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| BartonCounty, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 12, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lamar |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Barton County Courthouse 1004 Gulf Street Lamar, MO 64759 Phone: 417.682.3529 Barton County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1897 and death records 1883-1899;
Recorder Deeds has divorce and land records; Probate Court has probate
records; Magistrate Court, division 2, has court records[1]
History
Parent County
1855--Barton County was created 12 December 1855 from Jasper County. County seat: Lamar [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Barton County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Barton County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Barton County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Missouri Local Histories
Maps
- Map of Barton County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Barton County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
- Map of 1904 Barton County with numerous small settlements (My Genealogy Hound)
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Barton County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Barton County, Missouri Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Joplin newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Barton County communities.
Probate
Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office.
Births
- 1883-1893 - Barton County Birth Index 1883-1893. Batch C514622 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1887-1891 - Lamar, Barton County, Birth Index 1887-1891. Batch C514623 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
- 1866-1885 - Barton County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1866-1885. Batch M514621 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
- 1883-1893 - Lamar, Barton County, Marriage Index 1883-1893. Batch B514626 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Biographies from The History of Barton County, Missouri (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Barton County, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 June 2013, at 20:01.
- This page has been accessed 1,633 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
