Barton in Fabis, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Barton in Fabis, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Barton in Fabis, Nottinghamshire
Bartonin Fabis,St George Nottinghamshire.jpg
Bartonin Fabis,St George Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARTON in FABIS or BARTON (St. George), is a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, it is 6¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Nottingham. [1]

Additional information:

Barton in Fabis St George is an Ancient Parish, the church dates from 14th century in part and was restored between 1855-1886. The church has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

The extensive Ancient parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbouring Derbyshire parish of Sawley, Derbyshire together with neigbouring Attenborough, Nottinghamshire and Thrumpton, Nottinghamshire

Southwell and Nottigham Church History project History of the church

Barton in Fabis Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Barton in Fabis, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BARTON IN FABIS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1558-1812

Barton in Fabis St George Baptisms 1558-1901 Marriages 1558-1978 Burials 1558-1904 Bishop's transcripts 1600-1841

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms Marriages Burials Bishop's Transcripts
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the Family History Library  film numbers in their collection Barton in Fabis

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barton in Fabis in GENUKI:  www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/BartoninFabis/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Called Barton in Fabis.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2014, at 21:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,204 times.