Bartow County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Bartow County
Guide to Bartow County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Bartow County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 3, 1832 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Cartersville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bartow County Courthouse 135 W Cherokee Ave PO Box 543 Cartersville, GA 30120-0543 Phone: 770.387.5030 Bartow County Website |
Contents |
Bartow County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has birth, marriage and probate records;
Clerk superior Court has divorce records from 1862,
court records from 1869, land records from 1837 and
military discharge records[1]
Bartow County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Bartow County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1832--Bartow County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County. County seat: Cartersville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1860 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Bartow County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Bartow County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Methodist
Cassville Methodist Church
- 1887-1916 - Cassville Methodist Church Baptism Index 1887-1916. Batch C712071 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1892-1894 - Cassville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1892-1894. Batch M712071 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Bartow County.
- May 17, 1864 = Adairsville[4]
- October 5, 1864 = Allatoona[5]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bartow County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Bartow County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Wills
- 1836-1922 - Bartow County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. A-B) at SamPubCo - free.
- 1836-1922 - Bartow County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. A-B) at SamPubCo - free.
- 1836-1856 - Images of Bartow County, Georgia Wills at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1836-1856 - Images of Bartow County, Georgia Wills at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1836-1885 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1836-1885 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1885-1922 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1885-1922 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Additional Probate Records
- 1853-1866 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills Vol. A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1853-1866 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills Vol. A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1853-1856 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book H at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1853-1856 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book H at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1856-1862 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book I at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1856-1862 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book I at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1860-1863 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book K at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1860-1863 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book K at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1866-1895 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills, Vol. B at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1866-1895 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Inventories, Appraisements, Distributions, Sale Bills, Vol. B at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1867-1870 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book M at Georgia Pioneers ($).
- 1867-1870 - Index to Bartow County, Georgia Annual Returns, Guardians, Executors, Administrators Book M at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1836-1869 - Bartow County Marriage Books B thru E Index 1836-1869. Batch M712061 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1869-1882 - Bartow County Marriage Books F and G Index 1869-1882. Batch M712062 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1882-1889 - Bartow County Marriage Book H Index 1882-1889. Batch M712063 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1889-1895 - Bartow County Marriage Books I and J Index 1889-1895. Batch M712064 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1879-80 - Bartow County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- 1879-80 - Bartow County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Bartow County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Bartow County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Bartow County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Bartow County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bartow County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 01:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,104 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

