Basford, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Basford, Nottinghamshire
Old+Basford St+Leodegarius +Nottinghamshire.JPG
Old+Basford St+Leodegarius +Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BASFORD (St. Leodgarius), a parish, and the head of a union, in the N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 2½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Baptists.[1]

Additional information:

Basford is an Ancient Parish which includes: Maperley, White Moor Place, Two-mile House, Sherwood, Bagnall, Mapperley, Daybrook, Bestwood, Bagthorpe, and Old Basford. The Ancient parish church of St Leodegarius has been designated a grade II* listed building St Leodegarius Wikipedia  Church history

Basford may also refer to the subsequent parish formation within the Old Basford parish boundary:

New Basford St Augustine of Canterbury built in two phases in 1859 and 1877 Church history The church was demolished in 1989.

Other places in the parish include: Maperley, White Moor Place, Two-mile House, Sherwood, Bagnall, Mapperley, Daybrook, Bestwood, Bagthorpe, and Old Basford.

Emmanuel Church Bestwood ( sometimes known as Emmanuel Church Arnold) The church was dedicated in 1869 and is in Bestwood St Albans. The Emmanuel church has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building Church history

Bestwood+Emmanuel+Church Warren+Hill Nottinghamshire.JPG

Bestwood St Mark built in Bestwood village and opened in 1887 Church history

Bestwood St+Mark +Nottinghamshire.JPG

Bestwood is the setting for Sons and Lovers by D.H. Lawrence see also Bestwood Village Wikipedia

In 1905 the church of Basford St Aidan formed an Ecclesiastical parish in Basford from part of the Ancient Parish, built originally as a chapel of ease and dedicated as a parish church. St Aidan Basford Wikipedia  Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Church history


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Basford, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BASFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1568-1812

Basford St Leodigarius

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1561-1920 Marriages 1568-1963 Burials 1561-1925
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Basford St Aidan Baptisms 1905-1946 Marriages 1910-1946

Bestwood Park Emmanuel Baptisms 1870-1938 Marriages 1873-1980 Burials 1870-1900

Bestwood Park St Mark Baptisms 1938-1967 Marriages 1946-1954

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Basford

Balham, Brenda:  General Baptist Benevolent Society, High St. Old Basford.  Gifts given and received March 1867-December 1876. A list of names of the folk receiving the cash gifts, by person who is named and the amount given. Surname Index at the back of the article.  This list came from the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref BP 12/12, and transcribed by Brenda Balham.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 131, pages 18-85, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Basford St. Leodegarius,  an alphabetical listing of memorial inscriptions giving surname, given names, date of death, and age.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 3, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n, also Basford, St. Leodegarius Relief Cemetery, Alpine Street same as above, in vol. 57, page 15, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

see Nottinghamshire Census

Emigration

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan.  Letter Regarding Assisted Emigration from Basford to the Cape.  Letter dated 24 November 1819, regarding funds for William Foulds or Fowles, John Hesom, and Francis Towlson with 5 children unnamed, Henry Sheppard  his wife and 3 children, to be assisted to go to the Cape. Letter available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref C/QA/CP 5/1/6/30, and transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 107, page 57-59, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

In GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,876 times.