Bastrop County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties B
Bastrop County
Guide to Bastrop County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Bastrop, Texas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 17, 1836 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Bastrop | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Bastrop County Courthouse 804 Pecan Street PO Box 577 Bastrop, TX 78602 Phone: 512.332.7234 Bastrop County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1860, probate records from 1850,
court records from 1890, land records from 1837, military
discharge records from 1919 and naturalization records
from 1855; District Clerk has divorce records[1]
History
Parent County
The county was named for the Baron de Bastrop (1759-1827). He was Felipe Enrique Neri, colonizer, legislator, and self-styled Baron de Bastrop. He was born Philip Hendrik Nering Bögel in Paramaribo, Dutch Guiana, on November 23, 1759, the son of Conraed Laurens Nering and Maria Jacoba (Kraayvanger) Bögel.
Boundary Changes
From January 8, 1836 to December 13, 1837, the Municipality and County of Mina consisted of parts of present day Mason, Kimble, Llano, Burnet, Williamson, Gillespie, Blanco, Comal, Hays, Travis, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Gonzales, Fayette, Washington, and Lavaca counties. On December 14, 1837, the Second Congress passed legislation changing the geographical limits, creating Fayette County, removing Gonzales and Caldwell Counties from the boundries and, five months later, added parts of Kimble and Comal Counties. On December 18, 1837, Sam Houston signed an act incorporating the town of Mina and, on the same day, changing the name of the county and town of Mina to Bastrop. May 24, 1838 to January 24, 1840, shows the borders of Bastrop County to contain parts of present day Blanco, Burnet, Williamson, Travis, Hays, Comal, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Gonzales and Fayette counties. From January 25, 1840 to January 25, 1850 the border changed to almost it's present size with a small portion of Lee, Williamson, Caldwell, Gonzales and Fayette counties included.
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Towns and Cities: | Bastrop | Clearview | Elgin | Jeddo | McDade | Oak Hill | Paige | Red Rock | Rockne | Rosanky | Smithville | String Prairie | Upton | Watterson |
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Archives
Bastrop County Archives from the USGenaweb Archives.
Books
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
Epodunk | |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
Bastrop County: A list of cemeteries in Bastrop County
Bastrop County Cemeteries from the TXGenWeb site
Bastrop County Cemeteries at Find-A-Grave All Bastrop County cemeteries are listed
Individual cemeteries listed at BillionGraves:
- McDade Cemetery, Elgin
- Oak Hill Cemetery, Smithville
- Walker-Watson Cemetery, Bastrop
- Three Oaks Cemetery, near Smith Lake North of US-290 on 3 Oaks Cemetery Road.
Census
Census 1830 to 1880 at the Bastrop County TXGenWeb site
| Year | Population |
| 1990 |
38263 |
| 1980 |
24726 |
| 1970 |
17297 |
| 1960 |
16925 |
| 1950 |
19622 |
| 1940 |
21610 |
| 1930 |
23888 |
| 1920 |
26649 |
| 1910 |
25344 |
| 1900 |
26845 |
- Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990
Compiled and edited by Richard L. Forstall
Population Division
US Bureau of the Census
Washington, DC 20233
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Community
TXGenWeb Site Bibles, Colonies, Family Sheets, Letters, Phone Books, Maps, Newspapers, Pictures, School Records
County Courts
Bastrop County Clerk's Office
803 Pine, Room 112
PO Box 577
Bastrop, TX 78602
Telephone: (512) 332--7234
(Land, Vital Records, Oil/Gas Leases)
Bastrop County District Clerk's Office
PO Box 770
Bastrop, TX 78602
Telephone: (512) 332--7244
(Criminal and Civil, Licenses, Taxes)
Bastrop County Commissioner's Offices
804 Pecan Street
Bastrop, TX 78602
TXGenweb Site Links for Court Officials, Commissioner's Court records, District/Civil Court records, Criminal Court minutes, Election Results, Naturalization records, Cattle Brands, Texas Supreme Court records, Deeds, Judgements in Lunacy, Paupers, and links to other records.
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Bastrop County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Bastrop County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Texas Counties Map Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site
Various County Maps
Message Boards
Rootsweb/Ancestry Message Boards
Mailing Lists
Military
Bastrop County TXGenWeb Site Information on the Civil War, WWI, WWII, Vietnam, Mina Volunteers, Revolutionary War and Military Rolls 1835-45
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bastrop County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Bastrop County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Bastrop County Newspaper Extractions and Images from the TXGenWeb site
- Genealogy Bank Subscription
- Newspaper Archives Subscription
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Probate Records
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Professional Help
Research Links
- Cyndi's List - Texas
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- The Handbook of Texas
- Fold 3 Military Records Subscription
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Bastrop County Births, Deaths, Marriages, Probate Records Small Claims, Guardianships and Insanity. From the Bastrop County TXGenWeb site,
Births
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935
- Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981
Deaths
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 - Texas Death Records 1977-1986 ~ FamilySearch
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 ~ FamilySearch
- Texas, Deaths (New Index, New Images), 1890-1976 ~ FamilySearch
- Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch
Marriages
Texas County Marriage Index 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch
Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch
Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch
Societies and Libraries
Bastrop County Historical Society Museum
702 Main Street
Bastrop, Texas 78602
512-303-0057
Email: bchs1832@sbcglobal.net
Daughters of the Texas Revolution
Family History Centers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bastrop County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2013, at 00:40.
- This page has been accessed 2,873 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


