Bates County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Bates County

Guide to Bates County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Bates County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Bulter
Courthouse
Address Bates County Courthouse
1 N Delaware Street
Butler, MO 64730
Phone: 660.679.3371
Bates County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1887;
County Recorder has marriage recordsrec from 1860
and land records from 1840; Clerk Circuit Court has
divorce records from 1860; Probate Judge has probate
records[1]

History

Parent County

1841--Bates County was created 29 January 1841from Cass, Van Buren and Jackson Counties. Van Buren County name was changed to Cass County 19 Feb 1849. County seat: Butler [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Mobates.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cass  • Henry  • Linn County, Kansas  • Miami County, Kansas  • St. Clair  • Vernon

Bates CountyJackson CountyLafayette CountyPolk CountyCedar CountyPettis CountyWilson CountyNeosho CountyCrawford CountyCoffey CountyAnderson CountyLinn CountyMiami CountyFranklin CountyLeavenworth CountyBourbon CountyWoodson CountyOsage CountyShawnee CountyDouglas CountyJohnson CountyAllen CountyVernon CountyBarton CountyDade CountyGreene CountyJohnson CountyBenton CountyHenry CountyHickory CountyCass CountySt. Clair CountyMOBates.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Bates County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Zion Lutheran Church, Rich Hill, records in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[2]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bates County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

The old settlers' history of Bates County, Missouri from its first settlement to the first day of January, 1900 is available online free from Google Books.

Maps

Military

Civil War
- 11th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 60th Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bates County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1880-1911 - Bates County Birth Index 1880-1911. Batches C514634 and C514633 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1860-1877 - Bates County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1860-1877. Batch M514631 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1877-1885 - Bates County Marriage Books 3 thru 5 Index 1877-1885. Batch M514632 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1911 - Bates County Death Index 1883-1911. Batch B514635 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Bates County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Bates County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Bates County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Bates County, Missouri
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Bates County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Bates County Message Board

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bates County, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 June 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 9,189 times.