Bath Abbey, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bath Abbey, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

To view and printout a list of Bath's chapels and parishes, see A Comprehensive List of Bath Abbey's Chapels and District Chapels.

Bath Abbey, Somerset
Bath Abbey Somerset.jpg
Bath Abbey Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bath
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATH, a city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 12 miles east by south from Bristol, 19 (north by northeast from Wells, and 107 west from London, on the direct road to Bristol; containing, with it the whole parish of Walcot, and the parishes of Bathwick, Widcombe and Lyncombe.

The parishof St Peter and St Paul, or the Abbey parish, and the parish of St James, form a rectory, with the vicarage of Lyncombe and Widcombe (both of which also see) annexed. The church was rebuilt in the year 1606. Jointly with Wells, Bath is the head of a diocese comprising very nearly the whole of the county of Somerset.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Bath Abbey, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
BATH ABBEY PARISH (1569)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1569-1800


FREG 1569-1901
1569-1840
1569-1840, 1873-1908
FS 1569-1839
1569-1812, 1829-1837


MARR
1569-1742, 1754-1893

NBI



1668-1945
PALL

1790-1802


FS 1569-1839
1569-1837


Bath St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BATH ST JOHN PARISH

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1682-1714


FREG 1695-1709
1682-1714
1679-1688

Bath Christchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BATH CHRISTCHURCH PARISH

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1877-1912




Bath St Mary of the Stall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BATH ST MARY OF THE STALL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1605-1606
1605-1606
1605-1606
FS 1605-1606




Bath St Saviour parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BATH ST SAVIOUR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1840-1862




Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474593.

Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bath/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). pp. 168-177. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
  9. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 15:26.
  • This page has been accessed 3,357 times.