Bath County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Bath County
Guide to Bath County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Bath County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| |
| Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1790 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Warm Springs |
| Courthouse | |
Bath County Virginia Courthouse
Bath County Courthouse
P.O. Box 180
Warm Springs, VA 24484-0180
Phone: 540-839-2361
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1854-1880
Death records 1854-1870 divorce records, probate, land and court records from 1791[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1790 | 1853 | 1810 | 1791 | 1791 |
Bath County Virginia History
The county is named after the resort town of Bath, England.[2]
Parent County
1790--Bath County was created 14 December 1790 from Augusta, Botetourt and Greenbrier (now in West Virginia) Counties.
County seat: Warm Springs.[1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost censuses: 1800, 1890
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Bath County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Bath County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1960):128-131. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African Americans
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
For a more detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Bath County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Bath County:[3]
|
|
|
The Genealogy Center of the Allen County Public Library has a number of Bath County, Virginia cemetery databases on-line.
- Tombstone Transcription Project Bath County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Bath County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 5,508 | — |
| 1810 | 4,837 | −12.2% |
| 1820 | 5,237 | 8.3% |
| 1830 | 4,002 | −23.6% |
| 1840 | 4,300 | 7.4% |
| 1850 | 3,486 | −18.9% |
| 1860 | 3,676 | 5.5% |
| 1870 | 3,795 | 3.2% |
| 1880 | 4,482 | 18.1% |
| 1890 | 4,587 | 2.3% |
| 1900 | 5,595 | 22.0% |
| 1910 | 6,538 | 16.9% |
| 1920 | 6,389 | −2.3% |
| 1930 | 8,137 | 27.4% |
| 1940 | 7,191 | −11.6% |
| 1950 | 6,296 | −12.4% |
| 1960 | 5,335 | −15.3% |
| 1970 | 5,192 | −2.7% |
| 1980 | 5,860 | 12.9% |
| 1990 | 4,799 | −18.1% |
| 2000 | 5,048 | 5.2% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
- Burton, Charles T. Botetourt County, Va., 1785 Enumeration. Troutville, Va.: Burton?, 1972. Available at FHL US/CAN Book and FHL US/CAN Film 928249 Item 2; digital version at Ancestry ($). [All or part of present-day county of Bath is included.]
1790 - Lost
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation
1810
- Crickard, Madeline W. 1810 Census of Bath County, Virginia. Beverly, W. Va.: Crickard, 1968?. Available at FHL US/CAN Access Services Window 6015642; digital version at Ancestry ($).
1840
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Bath County, Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2004. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Court
Genealogy
More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Bath County, Virginia families. For a list, see Bath County, Virginia Genealogy.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
- Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.4 R22w 1992. [Includes Bath County, Virginia.]
Local Histories
- McAllister, Jean Graham. A Brief History of Bath County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: McClure Co., 1920. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 1698153 Item 10; digital versions at Ancestry ($) and Google Books (full-view).
- McAllister, Joseph Thompson. Historical Sketches of Virginia Hot Springs, Warm Sulphur Springs and Bath County, Virginia. Salem, Va.: Salem Printing and Publishing Company, 1908. Digital version at Google Books (full-view).
- Morton, Oren Frederic. Annals of Bath County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: McClure Co., 1917. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.587 H2m and FHL US/CAN Film 1033746 Item 5; digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books (full-view); and World Vital Records ($).
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Bath County on page 134.]
War of 1812
Bath County men served in the 81st Regiment.[4]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Bath County, p. 63.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Bath County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bath County, Virginia:
- - 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company F (The Bath Grays) and Company G (The Bath Guards).[5]
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[6]
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's) (Confederate). Company B (Bath Grays).[7]
- - 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.[8]
- - 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies A and B.[9]
- - 52nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Bath Rifles).[10]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Bath County, Virginia newspapers.
- Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
- Bath County News-Outlook - full text of more than 100 issues freely available via Google Newspaper Archive
Petitions
- Eckenrode, H.J. Virginia State Library: A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford. Richmond, Va.: Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. [Bath County petitions (1777-1863) are described on pp. 194-210.]
Probate Records
A free index to Bath County, Virginia wills and administrations (1791-1800) is available at the <a href="http://lva1.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b-clas08&local_base=CLAS08">Library of Virginia</a> website.
- Bruns, Jean R. Abstracts of the Wills and Inventories of Bath County, Virginia, 1791-1842. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.587 P28b; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
Taxation
How can Virginia tax lists help me?
- [1793] Tax List, Delinquent, 1793, Bath County Heritage Newsletter, Issue 15 (Fall 1987).
- [1800] "Bath County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):21-28. FHL 975.5 B2vg; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL 975 E4w v. 5 [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Bath County is included in Vol. 5.]
Vital Records
Indexes to Bath County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
- 1853-1896 - Fridley, Beth, comp. Bath County, Virginia Births: 1853-96 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2000. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1853-1870 - Bath County Birth Index 1853-1870. Batch C868574 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
Marriage
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1790-1889 - Bath County Marriage Index. Batch M868572 at FamilySearch - free.[11]
Death
Bath County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Bath County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Bath County Historical Society
Family History Centers
Bath County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Bath County, Virginia USGENWEB
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Bath County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bath County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Bath County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bath_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 50. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
- ↑ Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 52nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 23 and supp.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 June 2013, at 02:13.
- This page has been accessed 5,217 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


