Bath St James, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bath St James, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bath St James, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bath
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; For more records see Bath Abbey
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bath, jointly with Wells, is the head of a diocese comprising very nearly the whole of the county of Somerset. The parish of St. Peter and St. Paul, or the Abbey parish, and the parish of St. James, form a rectory, with the vicarage of Lyncombe and Widcombe. St. James's church, rebuilt in 1768, is an elegant structure in the later English style.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Bath St James, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
BATH ST JAMES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1569-1840
1569-1840
1569-1840
FS 1607-1821 (gaps)
1603-1793; 1846-1873


MARR
1731-1899

NBI

1739-1853
PALL
1790-1812

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474609.

Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bath/index.html


References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 6 March 2011.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 1 May 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:57.
  • This page has been accessed 3,311 times.