Bathampton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Bathampton, Somerset
St Nicholas Church at Bathampton Somerset.jpg
St Nicholas Church at Bathampton Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hampton and Claverton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATHAMPTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred or liberty of Hampton and Claverton, though locally in the hundred of BathForum, E. division of Somerset, 1¾ mile (N. E. by E.) from Bath.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Bathampton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
BATHAMPTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1912
1599-1840
1579-1909
MARR
1599-1837

NBI

1765-1886
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Parish Register

Church Wardens Records

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Poor Law Unions

The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions[7]. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[8] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
  7. England and Wales Poor Law
  8. Land Tax Assessment Records

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 July 2014, at 15:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,287 times.