Bathealton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bathealton, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bathealton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milverton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wellington PLU
Registration District Wellington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1712
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Taunton
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATHEALTON, a parish in Wellington district, Somerset; near the Western canal, 4½ miles WNW of Wellington railway station, and 5½ from Wellington.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Bathealton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
BATHEALTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1813-1976
MARR
1611-1750, 1755-1832

NBI

1712-1976
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcriptions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474601.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[6] .

School Records

School records are a primary source for genealogists. The admission registers of schools administered by local authorities, perhaps from the 1870s but more frequently from 1902, usually show under the date of entry, the child's name and address and his or her date of birth. Some registers, but not all, also show the name and occupation of the parent or guardian, the name of the previous school attended and the reason for leaving [7].

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[8] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bathealton/index.html

References

  1. Wilson,John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Land Tax Assessment Records
  7. England schools
  8. Land Tax Assessment Records
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,553 times.