Bathwick with Woolley, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bathwick with Woolley, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bathwick with Woolley, Somerset
Bathwick St Mary Bath.jpg
Bathwick St Mary Bath
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bath-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668; Separate registers exist for Woolley beginning 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598; Separate records exist for Woolley beginning 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATHWICK, a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred of Bath-Forum, E. division of Somerset. The city of Bath, from is separated by the river Avon.[1]

Additional information:

Bathwick with Woolley St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Somerset. Other places in the parish include: Woolley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Bath Civil Registration District has a complete index of civil registration from 1837-2007 online through the volunteer effort of Bath BMD,England Marriage registrations post 2007 are added as index become available. There are detailed content tables available.

Church records

Bathwick St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
BATHWICK PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1563-1911
1564-1911
1560-1911
MARR
1615, 1727-1897

NBI

1776-1993
PALL
1790-1812

Bathwick St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BATHWICK ST JOHN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1616-1811

Woolley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WOOLLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
MARR
1754-1835

NBI

1560-1811
PALL
1790-1835

Church records on microfilm

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474593.

Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bathwick/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,890 times.