Batley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Batley

Guide to Batley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Batley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Dewsbury PLU
Registration District Dewsbury; Hunslet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Batley
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Dewsbury, partly in the Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, and partly in the wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire; containing 14,278 inhabitants, of whom 7076 are in the township of Batley, 2 miles (N.) from Dewsbury. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans.[1]

BATLEY, a town, a township, and a sub-district in the district of Dewsbury, and a parish in the districts of Dewsbury and Hunslet, W. R. Yorkshire. The township includes also the hamlets of Brownhill, Brookroyd, Carlinghow, Clark-Green, Havercroft, Chapel-Fold, Healey, Staincliffe, White See, Kelpin-Hill, Capas-Height, Purlwell, and new Roadside, and part of the hamlet of Batley-Carr. There are a handsome Independent chapel of 1856, an elegant Wesleyan chapel of 1861, four other dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records
Online Records
AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)
FS= FamilySearch.org

BATLEY PARISH (1559) Online Records


Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1559-1910 1559-1910 1559-1935 1559-1935 1559-1911 1559-1911
FMP 1699-1836 None None None None None
FS 1724-1814 None 1724-1836 None None None

Brownhill St Saviour parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[4]

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1783-1812 1783-1812 1783-1812 1783-1812 1783-1812 1783-1812
List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Batley is an ancient parish (created before 1813).  Church of England records for Batley survive from 1559 (All Saints), 1841 (Batley Carr), and 1868 (St.Thomas).

In addition, the following Church of England chapelries were also found within Batley parish:

  • Batley St Thomas the Apostle (1868)
  • Batley Carr (1835)
  • Brownhill St Saviour (1871)
  • Bruntcliffe (abt 1880)
  • Carlinghow (1879)
  • Gildersome St. Peter's (1774)
  • Healey (1859)
  • Morley St Peter (1830)
  • Staincliffe Chapelry (1867)

The original registers are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives in Wakefield. 

The copies made by the minister (ordered by an Act of 1598) and sent each year to the Bishop of the diocese (known as parish register transcripts or Bishop's transcripts) survive from 1600 and are deposited at the West Yorkshire Archives branch in Sheepscar, Leeds. 

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has both parish registers and bishop's transcripts on microfilm for Batley and its chapelries, which are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.  Many of these records are indexed in the International Genealogical Index available online through the 'Advanced Search' at familysearch.org.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464238.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 168-177. Date accessed: 06 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 06th January 2014
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 6,275 times.