Batley Carr, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
BATLEY-CARR (Holy Trinity), a hamlet and chapelry in Batley and Dewsbury parishes, wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire, 1 mile (N.) from Dewsbury. This is an Ecclesiastical Parish created in1841 from Dewsbury (All Saints) Ancient Parish. The living is a perpetual curacy; Other churches include; Primitive and Wesleyan Methodist. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from the chapelry of Batley Carr is not yet available. Check the following websites periodically for updates:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk|
|GEN = Genuki.org.uk|
|BATLEY CARR CHAPELRY (1835) Online Records|
|FS||1835-1837, 1869, 1872, 1880-1909||
|BATLEY PARISH (1559) Online Records|
To identify all neighbouring chapelries contiguous to Batley Carr, lying in Batley Parish, be certain to visit the [Batley, Yorkshire|Batley Ancient Parish] page; scroll to the "Church Records" section. Also, you can find most if not all the names of the neighbouring parishes, by using the England Jurisdictions 1851 map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient "Church of England (AP) was created by 1835.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Note that this is a chapelry created from Dewsbury so is included in the Census with Dewsbury.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 434239. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1831; see at http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
- ↑ http://maps.familysearch.org/
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 13 December 2013, at 22:46.
- This page has been accessed 719 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More