Battersea St George, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Battersea St George, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Wandsworth and Clapham PLU
Registration District Croydon; Wandsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1853
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St George Patmore Street Battersea was a district church and chapel of ease built in the year 1853, and lay within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Battersea. BATTERSEA (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wandsworth and Clapham, partly in the E., but chiefly in the W., division of the hundred of Brixton,E. division of Surrey, 3 miles (S.) from London. [1]

Battersea St George, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474648.


 

Poor Law Unions

Wandsworth and Clapham Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[2]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 177-181. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 June 2014, at 21:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,826 times.