Battersea St Mary, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Battersea St Mary, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Battersea St Mary, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Wandsworth and Clapham PLU
Registration District Croydon; Wandsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BATTERSEA (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wandsworth and Clapham, partly in the E., but chiefly in the W., division of the hundred of Brixton, E. division of Surrey, 3 miles (S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]


Church records

Battersea **St Mary ancient parish had numerous additional Church of England chapels constructed within its boundary prior to 1900, each holding their own registers of baptisms, marriages and burials. These included but may not be limited to the following ones:

  • All Sts, Prince of Wales Dr, Battersea Prk - 1883
  • Caius House, Harroway Rd, - 1891
  • Ascension, Lavender Hill - 1875
  • Christchurch - 1861
  • St Aldwin‘s Mission Chapel, Poyntz Rd - 1880
  • St Andrew, Stockdale Rd - 1886
  • St Bartholomew, Wickersley Road - 1889
  • St George the Martyr, Patmore Street - 1853
  • St James‘s Mission, Nine Elms, Battersea - 1882
  • St John, Usk Rd, Battersea - 1863
  • St Luke's Ramsden Road - 1875
  • St Mark Battersea Rise - 1868 *
  • St Mary w/ St. Luke & St. Matthew - 1539**
  • St Mary Le Park, Albert Bridge Rd, - 1883
  • St Matthew, Lavender Hill - 1877
  • St Matthew‘s Mission, Nine Elms Lane Battersea - 1853
  • St Michael Wandsworth Common - 1881
  • St Paul, St John‘s Hill, Battersea - 1869
  • St Peter Plough Road - 1874
  • St Philip, Queenstown Rd - 1869
  • St Saviour, Battersea

Online Records

Online Battersea St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1559
Images
1559-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1893 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1684-1718
1778-1781
1801-1875
FamilySearch[6] 1802-1837 BritishOrigins[7] 1778-1865 BritishOrigins[8]

Battersea St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = 'England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[9]
Battersea St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1850-1870

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474648.



The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Wandsworth and Clapham Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[10]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Battersea St Mary Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (14+ entries)


Here is a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches in the Civil Parish of St Mary Battersea in the year 1900.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Mary, Battersea in Wandsworth Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Battersea St Mary in Wandsworth Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Battersea St Mary in Wandsworth Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Battersea St Mary in Wandsworth Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batch P015551, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  8. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  9. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  10. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 3,714 times.