Baughurst, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Baughurst

Guide to Baughurst, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baughurst, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Evingar
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Kingsclere PLU
Registration District Kingsclere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Baughurst; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BAUGHURST, a parish, in the union of Kingsclere, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Evingar, Kingsclere and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 7 miles (N. W. by N.) from Basingstoke.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Baughurst parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
BAUGHURST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1678-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1678-1850
1678-1880
1678-1880
GENUKI
1678-1812

JOIN
1678-1812

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

.

Smallbone, Ken.  Baptisms Recorded at Baughurst, Hampshire.  Article is a list of names and dates of Baptisms, Transcripts at the Hampshire Record Office. covering 1813-1837. Article in Hampshire Family Historian. Vol. 9,#2, 1982. pages 69-71, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288796.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Charles Smith's Diary. the Journal of a Hampshire Emigrant 18 June to 8 August 1886. Part One, This article is about the life of Charles Smith, born at Pudding Hill Farm, Church Green, Baughurst in 1862, parents being  John and Ruth Smith. He had 6 sisters, and Charles emigrates to Townsville, Queensland, Australia on the McIlwraith McEacharn Steamer 'Cloncurry' in 1886. Article has a family tree, a drawing of the Cloncurry, and his ticket, as well as a diary of part of the journey to Australia, and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XI. no.4, February 1985, pages 229-238. Family History Library Ref. 942.27B2h and a continuation of the article  containing a picture of Charles Smith's father and his six sisters at Church Green Baughurst, with names, in The Hampshire Family Historian,  vol.XII,no.1, May 1985, pages 25-31, Family History Library Ref.942.27 B2h v.12.  A further article of Charles Smith's Diary including a photo of him  taken in Collingwood, Queensland Australia, in 1888, to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no2, August 1985, pages 94-95, Family History Library Ref 942.27 B2h v 12. A further article of Charles Smith - it is a letter written from Pheasant Creek, Kingslake, Victoria,  dated December 5th 1894, written to his younger sister Nellie (Frances Ellen) shortly before his return to the family farm at Baughurst, where died of Tuberculosis.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XIII.no.3. November 1985, pages 190-191, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 177-181. Date accessed: 21 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 5 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  6. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:39.
  • This page has been accessed 5,450 times.