Bawsey, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Bawsey, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bawsey, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bawsey St John was an ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

The church has been ruined since the 1700's. It was previously recorded as a church in the Lynn denaery of the diocese.

A local landowner cleared the village in the sixteenth century.

Bawsey is a civil parish within the Kings Lynn area.

BAWSEY (St. James), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (E. by N.) from Lynn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The civil parish is within the following registration districts:

  • Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
  • King's Lynn 1939-1974

Church records

Bawsey, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
BAWSEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1771

FREG 1538-1770
1538-1770
1538-1770
FS ATs 1600-1770 1600-1770 1600-1770
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1539-1771 1540-1771
JOIN
1539-1771

PALL
1539-1771

PRTS
1539-1771

Norfolk Record Office reference  refers for registers post the years of the Archdeacon's Transcript years to Gaywood, Norfolk PD 451 for Gaywood with Bawsey and Mintlyn.

The parish registers for earlier years are not available on microfilm.

Content
Film
Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1770 Marriages 1601-1609, 1629-1636, 1668-1768 Burials 1600-1609, 1623-1636, 1668-1766. FHL BRITISH Film
1526742 Item 6.

Poor Law Unions

Freebridge Lynn      http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?FreebridgeLynn/FreebridgeLynn.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 177-181. Date Accessed: 29 Aug 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.

http://www.britainshistoricsites.co.uk/bawsey-old-church.htm for photographs of the ruined church

http://www.channel4.com/history/microsites/T/timeteam/archive/bawsey.html for 1999 television broadcast of archaeology and further websites relating to the site

http://www.lostvillages.co.uk/bawsey/ for details of the village clearance

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,631 times.