Bawtry, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bawtry

Guide to Bawtry, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bawtry, Yorkshire
Bawtry St Nicholas Doncaster Yorkshire.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Blyth
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Nottingham
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

BAWTRY, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Blyth, union of Doncaster, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 45 miles (S. by E.) from York, and 153½ (N. by W.) from London, containing 1083 inhabitants, of whom 741 are in the east, and 342 in the west, district. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

BAWTRY, a small town, a chapelry, and a subdistrict in the district of Doncaster, W. R. Yorkshire. Two dissenting chapels, Independent and Wesleyan. [2]

Bawtry Methodist Chapel Doncaster Yorkshire.jpg

Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Bawtry exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = findmypast (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  BAWTRY CHAPELRY (1812) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1812-1861

1813-1855

None

FMP (£) None

None

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1653-1960 Marriages 1653-1961 Burials 1654-1947
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online


Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

a.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464277.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Since the parish is in the diocese of Southwell it is necessary to search records of the Court of the Archdeaconry of Nottingham see Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes B-D for Blyth, Nottinghamshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 177-181. Date accessed: 06 January 2014.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed: 06th January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,830 times.