Bayston Hill, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Bayston Hill, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.[1]

Bayston Hill, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Condover
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Atcham; Shrewsbury PLU
Registration District Atcham; Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bayston Hill , eccl. dist., Condover and St Julian pars., S. Shropshire, 3 miles S. of Shrewsbury.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bayston Hill, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Bayston Hill, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1848-1869

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1848-1869 Marr 1848-1857 Bur 1848-1868 Missing all events 1853-1856

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474580.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  2. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles 1887. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 16:10.
  • This page has been accessed 702 times.