Bayswater, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Bayswater, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Bayswater, a hamlet in the parish of Paddington, Holborn division of the hundred Ossulstone, County of Middlesex, 1 mile from Cumberland Gate, London, on the Uxbridge Road. Bayswater, which may now be considered as a suburb to the metropolis, consists of several ranges of neat houses, and of some handsome detached residences; it has been much increased by ranges of new buildings branching off from the main street towards the north, and is desirable as a place of residence from its vicinity to Kensington gardens, which are situated on the south. An episcopal chapel was built by Mr Edward Orme in 1818. [1]

BAYSWATER, a suburb of London, and a chapelry in Paddington parish and Marylebone borough, Middlesex. The suburb adjoins Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, and the Great Western railway. It was originally called Baynard's water.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

1841 Census returns for all of Paddington are missing. Parts of Bayswater are in Kensington, linked below.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438806.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bayswater in Paddington on GENUKI

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R.I.A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions,” 181-184. (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Online [1]. Adapted. Digitized: Books.Google.com Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 December 2014, at 15:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,990 times.