Beadle County, South DakotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  South Dakota  go to  Beadle County
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records



Guide to Beadle County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Beadle County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Beadle County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1879
County Seat Huron
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Beadle Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beadle County Courthouse
450 3rd St SW;
Huron, SD 57350
Phone: 605.353.7165 

Clerk Courts has divorce records from 1884, probate
and court records from 1893 and land records; Register
of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial records [1]


Beadle County Courthouse
Located on West 3rd ST
P.O. Box 55
Huron, SD 57350

Offices of:

  • Clerk of Courts (probate, divorces)
  • County Auditor (tax and school records)
  • County Treasurer (real estate taxes)
  • Director of Equalization (property tax assessment)
  • Register of Deeds (birth, marriage and death records, land records)
  • Veterans Service Officer.

Official county website, Beadle County, SD.

History

Parent County

  • 1879--Beadle County was created 1 October 1879 from Spink, Clark, Burchard, Eliminated 1 Oct. 1879,  and Kingsbury Counties.
    County seat: Huron [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

School Censuses.  Early school censuses listing individual pupils before 1895 either missing or destroyed.  School census returns are located in the Beadle County Courthouse, Auditor’s office, Huron, South Dakota. If you plan to visit their office, you must call ahead—certain days are better than others. School censuses are not indexed.

  • Before 1895: Missing or destroyed.
  • 1895-1901: Summaries of the total number of students, no names.
  • 1902: Missing or destroyed.
  • 1903: Huron students—Name, Parent or Guardian, Sex.
  • 1904 and following: Huron and townships—Name, Parent or Guardian, Sex—you must know the year and the school.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Towns and post offices include:

  • Beatrice--Historic
  • Belle--Historic
  • Bonilla
  • Broadland
  • Cavour
  • Corvallis--Historic
  • Earlville--Historic
  • Goodle--Historic
  • Hitchcock (north border with Spink County)
  • Huron (county seat)
  • Iroquois (east border with Kingsbury County)
  • Lakeside--Historic
  • Lawrence--Historic
  • Pearl--Historic
  • Regal--Historic
  • Sheffield--Historic
  • Virgil
  • Wessington (west border with Hand County)
  • Winthrop--Historic
  • Wolsey
  • Yale

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Historic Map Works Residential Genealogy, "Cemeteries in South Dakota".  Township maps showing the location of cemeteries only.

South Dakota State Historical Society, "Cemetery Search Form".  Database of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), Graves Registration Project, c1941.  Fields may include Name of Deceased, Grave Number, Lot Number, Date of Death, Age, Sex.

Cemetery list

  • Ackerman Cemetery, Township 111, Range 60 (Cavour); northwest of Cavour, SD; aka Buckley Cemetery; aka Shue Creek Cemetery--Historic
  • Altoona Cemetery, Hitchcock, SD
  • Atfield Cemetery, Township 112, Range 61 (Iowa)--Incorrect name used in many resources; see:Hatfield Cemetery--Historic
  • Bethel Mennonite Brethren Church & Cemetery, Township 113, Range 60 (Milford), northwest of Yale, SD
  • Bonilla Memorial Cemetery, east of Bonilla, SD
  • Broadland Protestant Cemetery, Broadland, SD, northeast of Broadland, SD
  • Brock Cemetery, Township 113, Range 62 (Pleasant View)--Historic
  • Buckley Cemetery, Township 111, Range 60 (Cavour), northwest of Cavour; aka Ackerman Cemetery; aka Shue Creek Cemetery--Historic
  • Carlyle Township Cemetery, Township 109, Range 63 (Carlyle)--Historic
  • Cavour Protestant Cemetery, Cavour, SD
  • Danish Lutheran Cemetery, Township 111, Range 59 (Banner), southeast of Yale, SD, or northwest of Iroquois, SD; aka Dixon Cemetery; aka Schultz Cemetery--Historic
  • Dixon Cemetery, Township 111, Range 59 (Banner), southeast of Yale, SD, or northwest of Iroquois, SD; aka Danish Lutheran Cemetery; aka Schultz Cemetery--Historic
  • Earlville Norwegian Cemetery, Township 109, Range 65 (Burr Oak)
  • Ebenezer Mennonite Brethren Cemetery, Spink County, SD [near Beadle County]
  • Fairfield Bethel Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Township 112, Range 62 (Fairfield)--Relocated
  • Faith Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • Hatfield Cemetery, Township 112, Range 61 (Iowa), northeast of Huron, SD; aka Iowa Township Cemetery--Historic
  • Hartland Township Cemetery, Township 111, Range 63 (Hartland), southeast of Wolsey, SD; see:Wolsey City Cemetery
  • Hutterischer Society Cemetery, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron), southwest of Carpenter, SD; see:Hutterthal Mennonite Cemetery
  • Hutterthal Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron), southwest of Carpenter, SD; aka Hofer Church; aka Hutterischer Society Cemetery
  • Ideal Cemetery, Huron, SD
  • Immanuel Lutheran Church & Cemetery, Township 109, Range 59 (Belle Prairie), south of Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • Iowa Township Cemetery, Township 112, Range 61 (Iowa), northeast of Huron, SD; aka Hatfield Cemetery--Historic
  • Lake Cavour, Township 111, Range 60 (Cavour), lone burial plot--Historic
  • Lawrence Cemetery, Township 112, Range 60 (Liberty), see:Liberty Center Methodist Cemetery--Historic
  • Liberty Center Methodist Church & Cemetery, Township 112, Range 60 (Liberty); aka Lawrence Cemetery; aka Scofield Cemetery--Historic
  • McCord Cemetery, Township 112, Range 65 (Wessington), southeast of Wessington, SD; aka Wessington Township Cemetery--Historic
  • McNair Cemetery, Township 110, Range 65 (Sand Creek), west of Virgil, SD; aka Sand Creek Cemetery--Historic
  • Mennonite Colony Cemetery, Township 111, Range 61 (Valley)
  • Molvig Cemetery, Township 109, Range 65 (Burr Oak)--Historic
  • Necropolis Burying Ground, Huron, SD--Historic
  • Odd Fellows Cemetery, Huron, SD, see:Riverside Cemetery
  • Old Bethel Cemetery, northwest of Yale--Historic
  • Peck Cemetery, Township 114, Range 62 (Cornwall), Spink, SD; east of Hitchcock, SD--Historic [near Beadle County]
  • Pitrodie Cemetery, Township 113, Range 59 (Barrett); southeast of Carpenter, SD
  • Restlawn Memory Gardens, Huron, SD
  • Riverside Cemetery, Huron, SD; aka Odd Fellows Cemetery
  • Saint Ann Catholic Cemetery, Broadland, SD
  • Saint John Lutheran Church & Cemetery, Wolsey, SD
  • Saint Martin Catholic Cemetery, Huron, SD
  • Saint Patrick Catholic Cemetery, Cavour, SD
  • Saint William Catholic Cemetery, Township 112, Range 60 (Liberty), north of Yale, SD
  • Sand Creek Cemetery, Township 110, Range 65 (Sand Creek), west of Virgil, SD; see:McNair Cemetery--Historic
  • Schultz Cemetery, Township 111, Range 59 (Banner); southeast of Yale, SD, or northwest of Iroquois, SD; aka Danish Lutheran Cemetery; see:Dixon Cemetery--Historic
  • Scofield Cemetery, Township 112, Range 60 (Liberty); see:Liberty Center Methodist Cemetery--Historic
  • Shue Creek Cemetery, Township 111, Range 60 (Cavour); northwest of Cavour; aka Buckley Cemetery; aka Ackerman Cemetery--Historic
  • Trinity Lutheran Church Cemetery, Township 112, Range 59 (Foster); northeast of Yale, SD
  • Wessington Township Cemetery, Township 112, Range 65 (Wessington), south of Wessington, SD; see:McCord Cemetery--Historic
  • Winthrop Cemetery, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Wolsey City Cemetery, Township 111, Range 63 (Hartland), southeast of Wolsey, SD; aka Hartland Township Cemetery

Census

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service

   1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

  • American Congregational Church, Township 109, Range 64 (Kellogg). Alpena area, SD
  • American Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Apostolic Christian Fellowship. Huron, SD
  • Bateman Church, Township 109, Range 60. (Pearl Creek)--Historic; see:Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Belle Prairie Sunday School, Township 109, Range 59 (Belle Prairie)--Historic
  • Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, Huron, SD--Historic
  • Bethel Mennonite Brethren Church & Cemetery, Township 113, Range 60 (Milford), northwest of Yale, SD
  • Bethesda Church, Huron, SD; Mennonite
  • Broadland United Methodist Church, Broadland, SD
  • Bunker Hill Methodist Church, Township 113, Range 59 (Barrett)--Historic
  • Calvary Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • Carpenter United Methodist Church, Carpenter, SD
  • Cavour Methodist Episcopal Church, Cavour, SD--Historic
  • Centennial Center, Huron, SD, aka Old Stone Church
  • Church of Christ, Huron, SD
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Huron, SD
  • Church of the Nazarene, Huron, SD
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Parish, Huron, SD; merger of Saint Martin Catholic Church and Church of the Resurrection, Huron, SD, and Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD
  • Concordia Lutheran Church, Wessington, SD
  • Congregational United Church of Christ, Huron, SD
  • Earlville Norwegian Lutheran Church, Township 109, Range 65 (Burr Oak)--Historic
  • Ebenezer Mennonite Brethren Church, Spink County, SD--Historic [near Beadle County]
  • Ebenezer Reformed Church, Alpena, Jerauld, SD [near Beadle County]
  • Fairfield Bethel Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Township 112, Range 62 (Fairfield)--Historic
  • Faith Evangelical Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Faith Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • First Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • First Baptist Church, Wolsey, SD
  • First Missionary Church, Huron, SD, aka Huron, Missionary Church
  • First Methodist Church, Huron, SD
  • First Assembly of God Church, Huron, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Bonilla, SD; aka Bonilla Presbyterian Church
  • First Presbyterian Church, Huron, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Wessington, SD
  • First Presbyterian Church, Wolsey, SD
  • Frances Willard Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 110, Range 61 (Custer)--Historic
  • Grace Episcopal Church, Huron, SD
  • Hitchcock United Methodist Church, Hitchcock, SD
  • Hitchcock Presbyterian Church, Hitchcock, SD--Historic
  • Hofer Church, Township 113, Range 60 (Milford), southwest of Carpenter, SD; see:Hutterthal Mennonite Church & Cemetery
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Parish, Huron, SD; merger of Saint Martin Catholic Church and Church of the Resurrection, Huron, SD, and Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD
  • Huron Baptist Church, Huron, SD
  • Huron Christian Church, Huron, SD
  • Huron Church of the Open Bible, Huron, SD
  • Huron Gospel Tabernacle, Huron, SD
  • Huron Mission Church, Huron, SD; Christian & Missionary Alliance
  • Huron Wesleyan Church, Huron, SD
  • Hutterthal Mennonite Church & Cemetery, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron), southwest of Carpenter, SD; aka Hofer Church; aka Hutterischer Society Cemetery
  • Ideal Cemetery, Huron, SD
  • Immanuel Lutheran Church & Cemetery, Township 109, Range 59 (Belle Prairie), south of Iroquois, Beadle, SD
  • James River Church, Huron, SD; nondenominational
  • LaDelle Methodist Church, Spink County, SD--Historic [near Beadle County]
  • Lake Byron Presbyterian Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Lakeside Methodist Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Liberty Center Methodist Church & Cemetery, 112, Range 60 (Liberty)--Historic
  • Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Mount Olivet Mennonite Church, Huron, SD
  • Old Stone Church, Huron, SD, see:Centennial Center
  • Our Savior Lutheran Church, Huron, SD
  • Peace Lutheran Church, Virgil, SD--Historic
  • Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 109, Range 60 (Pearl Creek), southwest of Iroquois, Beadle, SD, or southeast of Cavour, SD; aka Wesley Community Church
  • Pitrodie Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 113, Range 59 (Barrett)--Historic
  • Richland Methodist Episcopal Church, 110, Range 60 (Richland)--Historic
  • Riverside United Methodist Church, Huron, SD
  • Rose Hill Presbyterian Church, Township 109, Range 62 (Grant)--Historic
  • Saint Ann Catholic Church, Broadland, SD--Historic
  • Saint John Lutheran Church & Cemetery, Wolsey, SD
  • Saint Martin of Tours Catholic Church, Huron, SD; see:Holy Trinity Catholic Parish
  • Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Cavour, SD; see:Holy Trinity Catholic Parish
  • Saint Paul Catholic Church, Iroquois, Kingsbury, SD--Historic
  • Saint William Catholic Church, 112, Range 60 (Liberty), north of Yale, SD--Historic
  • Salvation Army, Huron, SD
  • Seventh Day Adventist Church, Huron, SD
  • Sod Church, Township 108, Range 60 (Floyd), Sanborn, SD [south of the Beadle-Sanborn County line], south of Iroquois, SD
  • Tipton Community Church, Township 113, Range 65 (Nance)
  • Trinity Lutheran Church, Township 112, Range 59 (Foster), northeast of Yale, then Yale, SD; aka Evangelical Trinity Lutheran Church
  • Trinity United Methodist Church, Iroquois, SD
  • Virgil United Methodist Church, Virgil, SD
  • Wesley Community Church, Township 109, Range 60 (Pearl Creek), southwest of Iroquois, Beadle, SD, or southeast of Cavour, SD; see:Pearl Creek Methodist Episcopal Church
  • Wessington Methodist Church, Wessington, SD--Historic
  • Winthrop Methodist Episcopal Church, Township 113, Range 61 (Lake Byron)--Historic
  • Wolsey Methodist Episcopal Church, Wolsey, SD--Historic
  • [Wolsey] Presbyterian Church, Wolsey, SD

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Beadle County, South Dakota. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps

Historic Map Works Residential Genealogy has the following maps:

and others more current.

Military

South Dakota State Historical Society, 1885 Civil War Union Veterans Census | Confederates.

www.sdgenweb.com, 1883 U.S. Military Pensioners, Dakota Territory.

Newspapers

South Dakota State Historical Society--"Newspapers Search Form"


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Beadle County, South Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Beadle then click Probate records.

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

See also:South Dakota Vital Records.

Births, 1880-1911, South Dakota Birth Record Search Site, South Dakota Department of Health.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Beadle County, South Dakota, p.622
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 18:56.
  • This page has been accessed 12,335 times.