Bearstead, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Bearstead, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bearstead, Kent
Bearsted Holy Cross Kent.jpg
Bearsted Holy Cross Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BEARSTEAD (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union of Maidstone, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 2½ miles (E.) from Maidstone.[1]

Bearsted is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent Bearsted Wikipedia

Bearsted Holy Cross is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The Parish Church of the Holy Cross, Church Lane, Bearsted has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archaeological Society for history of the church. William Page Houses of Austin canons: The priory of Leeds', A History of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1926), pp. 162-165 at British History Online refers to the church in relation to Leeds Priory and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 505-513 at British History Online

Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bearstead, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Bearstead, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1658-1775

FMP 1563-1847
1563-1837
1563-1840
FS PRs 1655-1900 1655-1900; 1754-1900 (banns) 1655-1900
IGI 1563-1847 1563-1837

Land Tax

Images for Bearstead are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Bearstead 1851-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,030 times.