Beauchief Abbey, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Beauchief Abbey, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Beauchief Abbey, Derbyshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ecclesall Bierlow PLU
Registration District Ecclesall Bierlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEAUCHIEF-ABBEY,an extra-parochial liberty, formerly part of the parish of Norton, in the union of Ecclesall-Bierlow, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Dronfield. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.

Church records

Beauchief Abbey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Beauchief Abby St Thomas an extra-parochial liberty (1670) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Ecclesall Bierlow

Poor Law Unions

  • Ecclesall Bierlow

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Beauchief Abbey on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,307 times.