Beaufort County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Beaufort County North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Beaufort County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Beaufort County Courthouse
112 W 2nd Street
Washington, NC 27889
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate Records
1705--Beaufort County was first called Pamptecough Precinct when it was formed 3 December 1705 from Bath County; the name was changed to Beaufort about 1712. Bath County was abolished in 1739. County seat: Washington 
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Beaufort County, NC Records (Original & Microfilm)
- For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Askew-Bowen Cemetery - Long Acre
- Baynor Town Cemetery - Long Acre
- Campbell's Creek Community Cemetery - Aurora
- Cicero Candy Cemetery - Washington
- Clay Hill Cemetery - Edward
- Davis Cemetery - Pungo
- Hart Family Cemetery (African-American) - Edward
- Henry G. Lewis Cemetery - Blounts Creek
- Long Acre Chapel Church Cemetery - Long Acre
- Mixon Cemetery - Aurora
- Oakdale Cemetery - Washington
- Pamlico Memorial Gardens - Washington
- Rogers Cemetery - Washington
- Yeatesville Cemetery - Yeatesville (by Sandy Carawan)
- Access Genealogy for Beaufort County Cemeteries
- Cemetery Census for Beaufort County Cemeteries
- Find-A-Grave for Beaufort County Cemeteries
- USGenWeb Archives for Beaufort County Cemeteries
Census & Tax
For tips on accessing Beaufort County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Free Church on Chocowinity
- Church Minutes, Beaufort Co., NC, 1858
- Churches of Beaufort Co., NC
- Churches at NCGenWeb Archives
- Durham's Creek. Constituted 1790.
- The Kehukee Baptist Association, 1765 to 1885 (History of the Church of God)
- Beaufort Co., NC Subscribers List for 1834
- St. John the Evangelist, Washington, N.C. Consecrated 1829.
Church of England
- St. Thomas's Parish, Bath, N.C. Built 1734.
- Trinity Church aka Blount's Chapel. Built about 1775.
- Durham's Creek, NC
- History at NCGenWeb Archives
- Early history of Washington Park : 1839-1925 (1950) - book by Lida B. Small; freely available online
- A History of colonial Bath (1955) - book by Herbert Richard Paschal; freely available online
- Saint Peters Parish, Washington, North Carolina : a record of the century, 1822-1922 (1922) - book by Edmund Harding Hoyt; freely available online
- Washington and the Pamlico (1976) - book by Ursula Loy; freely available online
- 1590 White - de Bry Map of Coastal North Carolina
- 1630 Map of the Southeast [Mercator] (by Johannes Cloppenburg)
- 1696 Carte General de la Caroline (Hargrett Library, Univ. of Georgia)
- 1709 Map by John Lawson (from Francis L. Hawks)
- 1733 A New and Correct Map of North Carolina (by Edward Moseley)
- 1770 John Collet Map
- 1775 A Map of North and South Carolina by Henry Mouzon (Library of Congress)
- c1779 Plan of the Town of Washington comprised of the original 60 lots (read owners names)
- 1808 Price-Strothers Map
- 1833 A New Map of the State of North Carolina (by MacRae-Brazier)
- 1840 Bath Creek Survey
- 1862 Civil War Map of North Carolina (from Harper's Weekly)
- 1882 Kerr-Cain Map of North Carolina
- 1895 Map of Beaufort Co., NC (from Rand-McNally's Atlas)
- 2006 State Travel Map of Beaufort Co., NC (NC Dept. of Transportation)
- Beaufort Co., NC - Earth from Space (NASA-Johnson Space Center)
- Beaufort County, NC Townships, 1930 Census (by Larry Flowers)
- Beaufort County, NC Map (showing major towns)
- Animated Atlas (From the beginning of the 13 states to present--Excellent history lesson!)
Early migration routes to and from Beaufort County for European settlers included:
- Beaufort Co., NC Military Records (from Colonial Militia to Vietnam)
- Beaufort Co., NC Military Records at NCGenWeb Archives
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Beaufort County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company K
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company B
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company C
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina State Troops, Company I
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company E
:- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- Masonic Records of Beaufort Co., NC
- Historical Markers of Beaufort Co., NC
- Penny Postcards of Beaufort Co., NC at NCGenWeb Archives
- Hurricanes of North Carolina
Newspapers, Letters & Journals
- Brief Abstracts From The American Recorder, 1815-1825 from Betsy Ross
- Beaufort County news from miscellaneous newspapers
- Beaufort Co., NC Newspapers at NCGenWeb Archives
- Beaufort Co., NC Letters at NCGenWeb Archives
- Pamteco Tracings Table of Contents (Journal of the Beaufort County Genealogical Society)
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Beaufort County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1720-1960 - Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Beaufort Co., NC Wills
- Beaufort Co., NC Estates
- Beaufort Co., NC CRX Estates
- J. Bryan Grimes Wills & Inventories
- Beaufort Co., NC Wills & Estates at NCGenWeb Archives
Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please contact them for more information.
- 1874-1950 - Beaufort County Birth Index, Volumes 1-11, 1874-1950 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state ; via FamilySearch
- 1778-1795, 1847-1930 - Beaufort County Marriage Books A-F, P-Z, 2A-K and 2L-Z Index 1778-1795 and 1847-1930 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Marriages at NCGenWeb Archives
- North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - via FamilySearch; images included
- Beaufort County marriages - are included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searcheable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Beaufort Co., NC Obituaries
- Beaufort Co., NC Obituaries at NCGenWeb Archives
- Vital Records at NCGenWeb Archives
- Beaurfort County deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - freely available images of death certificates; via FamilySearch
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch
- Beaufort County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
- Beaufort Co., NC Genealogical Society
- Beaufort Co., NC Addresses & Links
- North Carolina Genealogical Society
- National Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
|Centers provide: • Personal one-on-one assistance • Access to genealogical records through the Internet or microfilm loan program • Free how-to classes (varies by location). See Family History Centers for more information.|
- Beaufort County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Beaufort County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Beaufort County at Our Family Tree
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Beaufort County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ "St. John the Evangelist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 20. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; "St. Thomas Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Trinity Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:23.
- This page has been accessed 22,062 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page