Beaulieu, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Beaulieu

Guide to Beaulieu, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beaulieu, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beaulieu Liberty
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union New Forest PLU
Registration District New Forest
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEAULIEU, a liberty, in the union of New Forest, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6¼ miles (N. E.) from Lymington, on the road to Hythe. The chapel, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, was the refectory of the abbey, the church of which, situated to the south-east, has been entirely destroyed (as of 1848). There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. At a short distance from this, on the road to Beaulieu, are the ruins of the extensive barn and the chapel of St.Leonard.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beaulieu, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
BEAULIEU PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 21 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,800 times.