Beauregard Parish, LouisianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Louisiana  Gotoarrow.png  Beauregard Parish

Guide to Beauregard Parish Louisiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Louisiana
Online Records


Beauregard Parish, Louisiana
Map
Map of Louisiana highlighting Beauregard Parish
Location in the state of Louisiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 12, 1912
County Seat DeRidder
Courthouse
LABeauregardcourthouse.jpg
Address 201 First St
DeRidder, LA 70634
Website: www.beauparish.org
Adopt-a-wiki page
LaGenWeb logo.gif This page adopted by:
LAGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Parish Coordinator
Beauregard Parish LAGenWeb
Adopt a page today
 

Contents

Parish Courthouse

Beauregard Parish Courthouse
412 Mayeaux Drive
De Ridder, LA 70634-0310
Phone: 337.463.6146

Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1913..[1]

History

  • French: Paroisse de Beauregard
  • Named for Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard, a Confederate general in the Civil War and one of the designer of the Confederate Battle Flag.

Parent Parish

  • 1912--Beauregard Parish was created 12 June 1912 from Calcasieu Parish.
    Parish seat: De Ridder [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Louisiana Parishes see: Louisiana Parishes with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

  • City: DeRidder
  • Town: Merryville
  • Communities: Dry Creek . Field . Longville . Oretta . Ragley . Singer . Sugartown

Neighboring Parishes or Counties

Resources

Labeauregard.png

Cemeteries

Census

Federal Census: 1840 . 1850 index . 1850 . 1860 index . 1860 . 1870 index . 1870  . 1880 index . 1880 . 1890 . 1900 . 1910 . 1920 . 1930

Census Images: 1840. 1850  . 1860 . 1870 . 1880 . 1890 . 1900 . 1910 . 1920 . 1930

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Beauregard Parish, Louisiana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.

Maps

Military

  • Confederate Veterans of Civil War
    • Confederate States of America Veterans
    • Stores of Confederate States of America Veterans
    • Confederate pension applications
    • 1 BN 2 Regiment, Louisiana Volunteer Cavalry Scouts
  • World War I
    • World War Draft Registration Cards

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Beauregard Parish, Louisiana newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Beauregard Parish, Louisiana clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.

See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Louisiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Beauregard Parish, Louisiana p. 289 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 6,172 times.