Bebington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Bebington
Bebington, Cheshire
Bebington+St+Andrews.jpg
Bebington St Andrews
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Andrew's Church, Bebington is in the town of Bebington, Wirral and is an Ancient parish and includes Higher Bebington, Lower Bebington, Poulton cum Spital, Storeton and Tranmere..

A church built from local Storeton sandstone was present before the Norman Conquest. Some of the stones from this church are still present in the south wall of the present church. A priest in Bebington was recorded in the Domesday Book. The Saxon church was later replaced by a Norman church. Building of the tower started in 1300 and was completed around 50 years later. The church was remodelled in the 14th century, the south aisle was widened and a three-bay chancel was built. In the 16th century rebuilding started at the east end in Perpendicular style. The chancel and chapels were built but the scheme was interrupted by the Reformation. In 1847 the church was reordered and the north arcade was built in Norman style.

From masons' marks, the lower parts of the tower date from the very early 14th century while the "ringing loft" dates from the middle of that century. The door to the outside of the tower was blocked in the 18th century, when a new door was cut within the church, but was re-opened in 1847. The tower had been rebuilt in 1805 after being struck by lightning. The last work of any significance was carried out in 1905.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Online index available Cheshire BMD

Registration Districts
  • Wirral (1837–1922)

Church Records

Bebington, Cheshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
BEBINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1866-1907
1846, 1894-1903

CPR To 1871
To 1871
To 1871
JOIN
1560-1837

Church records on microfilm

Bebington, St. Andrew  Cheshire Record Office reference.: P62/3248/1-4, P62/3248/2/1-3, P62/1/1-3, P62/2/1-3, P62/3/15, P62/5/1-4, P62/1-2, P62/8/1-9, P62/5090/5-8.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search 
Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register FHL Film
Early registers (baptisms, 1558-1739, marriages, burials, 1558-1702). BRITISH 2105392 Items 12 - 13
Early registers (baptisms, 1737-1780; marriages, 1702-1765; burials, 1702-1782). Baptisms and burials, 1782-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1877. Marriages 1754-1871; Banns, 1754-1812. BRITISH  2105393
Marriages, 1871-June 1913. Marriage banns, 1785-1824. Burials, 1813-1871. Baptisms, 1907-1935, 1878-1907. VAULT BRITISH 2105691
Marriages, May 1913-1930. Burials, 1888-1909. BRITISH  2105692 Items 1 - 5
Baptisms, 1878-1907. Marriages, 1893-1923. Burials, 1888-1899. Banns, 1785-1824 BRITISH
1656301 Items 1 - 4
Marriages, 1930-1959 VAULT BRITISH 2262788 Items 2 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Bebington, 1597-1901. Early text in Latin. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 22.

Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1597, 1599-1600, 1604-1605, 1608-1610, 1613-1615, 1617-1624, 1626, 1630, 1633, 1636-1638, 1640-1643, 1660, 1666, 1668-1670, 1672-1676, 1678, 1680-1681, 1684-1685, 1690-1691, 1694-1837. Burials & baptisms, 1867-1875, 1892-1893. Burials, 1891. BRITISH  1655396 Item 2
Baptisms, 1894-1901;
Burials, 1892-1901
BRITISH  1655397 Item 1

The parish has been transcribed and can be searched online at Cheshire Parish Register project

Non-Conformist Churches

New Ferry, St. John the Evangelist (Roman Catholic), Bebington Road. Founded 1902.

  • Lower Bebington, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Bromborough Road. Built in 1895, rebuilt in 1928.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,298 times.