Beccles, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Beccles, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford PLU
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wangford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Beccles, is a town, a parish, and a subdistrict, in Wangford district, Suffolk county. The town is on the river Waveney, and on the Eastern Counties railway, it is 8½ miles W of Lowestoft. The town has chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Methodists.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to Beccles and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Beccles was in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Beccles, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Beccles, Suffolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1586-1749

FMP 1586-1865 1586-1900 1586-1812
IGI 1813-1837
1813-1835

NBI

1587-1891
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

The parish records of Beccles (St Michaels) are available on cd from the Suffolk Family History Society

http://www.suffolkfhs.co.uk/osc/index.php?cPath=31_32

Beccles Salvation Army registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Beccles Salvation Army Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1956-2002
1982-1997
1956-1989

Cemetery: Municipal

Census

There are census records available for Beccles from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Beccles Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 4 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  8. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,497 times.