Beckenham St George, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Beckenham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Beckenham St George, Kent
Beckenham St George Kent.jpg
Beckenham St George Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bromley and Beckenham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

= Parish History

BECKENHAM (St. George), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Bromley and Beckenham, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 1¾ mile (W.) from Bromley, and 10 (S. S. E.) from London. [1]

Beckenham is a town in the London Borough of Bromley Beckenham Wikipedia

Beckenham St George is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The detached part of Battersea St Mary, Surrey Penge North West Kent Family History Society Penge St John became part of the parish in 1899.

The church of St George High Street Beckenham has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 527-550 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Beckenham North West Kent Family History Society and Beckenham St George Shortlands St Mary

Beckenham London Road Cemetery (Beckenham Cemetery) a municipal cemetery for Bromley Borough was opened in 1877 and Beckenham Crematorium and Cemetery Elmers End Beckenham is also located to serve that borough.

From this Ancient Parish were created:

Beckenham Christchurch: Fairfield Rd. Built 1876; parish created 1878 from Beckenham St George.Kent Churches website
Beckenham Holy Trinity: Lennard Rd. (Formerly 'Penge Lane'). Built 1878; parish created 1878 from Beckenham St George. Kent Churches website
Beckenham St Barnabas: Oakhill Rd.Built 1878/84, replacing iron church; parish created 1877 from Beckenham St George. Kent Churches website
Elmers End, St James: St James's Ave. Built 1879-88; parish created 1879 from Beckenham St George.
New Beckenham, St Paul: Brackley Rd. Built and parish created 1872 from Beckenham St George. Kent Churches website
St Michael & All Angels: Birkbeck Estate (Ravenscroft Rd). Church built 1899-1906, succeeding 1877 iron church; Destroyed 1944 and rebuilt 1955-6; parish created 1907 from Beckenham St George. Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beckenham St George, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Beckenham St George, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1719, 1744-1877
1744-1755

FS BTs 1718-1906 1718-1906 1718-1906
FS PRs 1772-1877 1813-1874; 1790-1822 (banns) 1772-1864
IGI 1813-1874

Deposited Parish registers are held at Bromley Archives reference P 19

Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
e-mail: localstudies.library@bromley.gov.uk

Beckenham Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Beckenham Christ Church Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1875-1876


FS BTs 1875-1904 1875-1904 1875-1904

Beckenham Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Beckenham Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1898-1906 1898-1906 1898-1906

Beckenham St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Beckenham St Michael Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1903-1906 1903-1906 1903-1906

Beckenham St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Beckenham St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1871-1900 1871-1900 1871-1900

Shortlands parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Shortlands Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1870-1885


FS BTs 1870-1904 1870-1904 1870-1904

Land Tax

Images for are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Beckenham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

3 Volumes Deposited Poor Books for Beckenham St George are held at Bromley Archives reference 1778 - 1802 P/19/5/6  Poor Book 1803-1829 P/19/5/3  Parish: Poor Book 1829-1836 P/19/5/5

Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
e-mail: localstudies.library@bromley.gov.uk

See England, Kent, Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:20.
  • This page has been accessed 5,896 times.