Becker County, Minnesota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Becker County, Minnesota)

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Becker County

Guide to Becker County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records

Becker County, Minnesota
Map of Minnesota highlighting Becker County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Founded March 18, 1858
County Seat Detroit Lakes
Address Becker County Courthouse
931 Lake Ave
Detroit Lakes, MN 56502
Phone: 218-846-7304
Becker County Website


County Information

Becker County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1871 1871 1850 1872 1872

County Courthouse

County Recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1871,
divorce, probate and court records from 1940. [2]


Parent County

1858--Becker County was created 18 March 1858 from Cass and Pembina, ( Name changed on 9 Mar. 1878), Counties.  County seat: Detroit Lakes [3]

  • For a brief history of how Becker County was named, click here, then select Becker County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss


Populated Places

Cities: Audubon . Callaway . Detroit Lakes . Frazee . Lake Park . Ogema . Wolf Lake

Townships: Atlanta . Audubon . Burlington . Callaway . Carsonville . Cormorant . Cuba . Detroit . Eagle View . Erie . Evergreen . Forest . Green Valley . Hamden . Height of Land . Holmesville . Lake Eunice . Lake Park . Lake View . Maple Grove . Osage . Pine Point . Riceville . Richwood . Round Lake . Runeberg . Savannah . Shell Lake . Silver Lake . Spring Creek . Spruce Grove . Sugar Bush . Toad Lake . Two Inlets . Walworth . White Earth . Wolf Lake

Communities: Elbow Lake . Oak Lake . Pine Point . Ponsford . Snellman . White Earth

Neighboring Counties

Clay | Clearwater | Hubbard | Mahnomen | Norman | Otter Tail | Wadena




Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lake Park

  • Records of Lutheran Church, Lake Park, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).[4]



The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Becker County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Becker County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Records


Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Becker County Historical Society
915 Lake Avenue
Detroit Lakes 56501

Becker County Historical Society
714 Summit Ave
P.O. Box 622
Detroit Lakes, MN 56502
Phone: (218) 847-2938

Lake Park Area Historical Society
c/o Carol Midthune
PO Box 193
Lake Park, MN 56554-0045

Northwest Minnesota Historical Center
1104 7th Avenue South
Minnesota State University Moorhead

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Cities, Townships and Communities

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Becker County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society,, accessed 10 June 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 September 2015, at 18:33.
  • This page has been accessed 9,125 times.