Beckingham, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Beckingham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beckingham, Lincolnshire
Beckingham All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Beckingham All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Beckingham All Saints is an Ancient Parish which forms part of the county boundary with Nottinghamshire neighbouring Barnby in the Willows, Nottinghamshire

Stragglethorpe, Lincolnshire and Fenton, Lincolnshire were chapelries within this parish.

The 12th century church of All Saints is a Grade 1 listed building by English Heritage and is regarded as in danger. Despite restorations in 1857,1888 and 1900 the fabric of the building is under threat.

The church was closed with the intention of being declared redundant in 1998, but saved and  subsequently featured in the 2006 BBC Restoration TV series.  Funds for a 3 stage restoration both of the external fabric of the building which was endangered and installation of modern facilities internally are continuing.

This parish should not be confused with Beckingham, Nottinghamshire

BECKINGHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (E.) from Newark; containing, with the hamlet of Sutton. There is a place of worship for Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of the Bassingham sub-district of Newark Registration district.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Beckingham Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Beckingham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.

Genealogy

Pollock, John M: A Community Revealed. History and family tree of two families of Saundby. Joseph Wilson, wife unknown with the following surnames; Jackson, Lowrys, Newling, Cottingham, Harrison Musgrave, Baker, Darley, Herring and Taylor. 2) Edmund Cottingham and Elizabeth Frances Easton with the following surnames, Musgrave, Wilson, Harrison, dating 1782-1948. Mr Pollock, was searching Cottinghams from Saundby, Harrisons from Spridlington, Musgraves from Cold Hanworth, and Herrings from Waddingham. Article in Lincolnshire Family History Soc. Mag vol. 18, no. 2, pages 77-80. FHL Ref. 942.53 D25Lf

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Beckingham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 188-194. Date accessed: 07 August 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 3,568 times.