Beckingham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Beckingham, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Beckingham, Nottinghamshire
Beckingham All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Beckingham All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Gainsborough PLU
Registration District Gainsborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1615
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1800 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York Post-1799 - Court of the Manor of Gringley-on-the-Hill or Bawtry
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BECKINGHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¼ miles (W. by N.) from Gainsborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

Beckingham is a village and civil parish about three miles west of Gainsborough Lincolnshire and part of the parish boundary froms the county boundary with neighbouring parish of Gainsborough All Saints, Lincolnshire The parish of Beckingham cum Sundby is one of the most northerly Nottinghamshire parishes and has relied upon the River Trent 3 miles to the east for much of its livelihood. Beckingham Willow Works and Watson's shipbuilders provided much employment for the villagers. The shipbuilders from 1889-1962 exported craft and the Watson family were major benefactors to the village donating land for the School, Institute and Library

The Ancient Parish of Beckingham All Saints is a 12th century building restored in later centuries.The church has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

It should not be confused with Beckingham, Lincolnshire (now closed) which has an identical dedicatory name.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Beckingham

The Methodist church was built in 1895 held its first service in 1896 and closed in 2007; an earlier Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was believed to have been built in 1842 in which year the Bishop of Lincoln granted a license for use as a place of worship within the village.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beckingham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
BECKINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


TGEN 1618-1837
1618-1837
1618-1837

Beckingham All Saints

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms circa 1615-1900 Marriages circa 1615- 1991 Burials circa 1615- 1916 ( early years of register are difficult to date) Bishop's Transcripts 1634-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the Family History Library  film numbers in their collection Beckingham

Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Beckingham.  A transcription of memorial inscriptions from the church yard, listing surname, given name, date of death, age, starting in 1717 onwards.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 64, page 4, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n, and is also held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/2

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1831 Census - Beckingham.  Taken by the Overseers of the Poor and Church Wardens of the parish on 30 May 1831.  Shows head of the household only, number of houses, families, males and females in the household.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 10,989  Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 95, page 54-56, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Genealogy

Monumental Inscriptions: of Beckingham Church Yard, Gringley on the Hill, Walkeringham - ranging from 1803-1993, then inside the Beckingham Church they date from 1753.  Included in this listing is the Beecher Lane Cemetery. Article has a Surname Index.  Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 132, pages 1-38, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Gainsborough Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Beckingham in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Beckingham/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 December 2014, at 19:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,581 times.