Bedale, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bedale

Bedale, Yorkshire
Bedale St Gregory Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Hang; Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bedale PLU
Registration District Bedale; Leyburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEDALE (St. Gregory), a market-town, parish,and the head of a union, chiefly in the wapentake of Hang-East, but partly in that of Hallikeld, North Riding Yorkshire; containing 2803 inhabitants, of whom 1250 are in the town, 33½ miles (N. W) from York, and 223 (N. N. W.) from London. The parish includes: Aiskew, Askew with Little Leeming, Bedale,Burrell with Cowling, Crakehall, Firby, Langthorne, and Rands-Grange. There are places of worship for Methodists', 'Particular Baptists', and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Northallerton registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

 Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Bedale Parish and one of its chapelries exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
BEDALE ST GREGORY PARISH (1560) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1560-1858 1560-1846 1560-1848
JOIN None 1732-1837 None
FMP (£) 1651-1653 1651-1653

1651-1653

List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1560.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Poor Law Unions

Bedale Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 188-194. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 January

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:14.
  • This page has been accessed 2,736 times.