Beddington, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Contents

Parish History


Beddington, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

BEDDINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Croydon, Second division of the hundred of Wallington, E. division of Surrey, 1½ mile (W.) from Croydon.[1]


Church records

Online Beddington Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1679-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1841 Ancestry[3] 1800-1841 Ancestry[4] 1813-1841 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1561-1875 FamilySearch[6] 1538-1660
1800-1876
FamilySearch[7] 1813-1840 FindMyPast[8]
1538-1775 FindMyPast[9]
1538-1837 BritishOrigins[10]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474665.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[11]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Some additional later churches built in this ancient parish include:

  • Holy Trinity Wallington - 1867
  • St Michael (Bandon Hill), South Beddington - 1871

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Mary, Beddington in Sutton Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batches C132711, C013312, P013311, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  7. Batches M013311, M132711, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  9. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  10. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  11. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,541 times.