Bedford County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Bedford County
Bedford County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 40.03°0′N 78.47°0′W / 40.03°N 78.47°W
| Bedford County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded: | March 9, 1771 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parent County | Cumberland | ||||||
| County Seat | Bedford | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Bedford County Courthouse 200 S Juliana St. Bedford, Pennsylvania 15522-1714 (814) 623-4812 Bedford County Website | ||||||
| Named for: Fort Bedford | |||||||
| |||||||
Bedford County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Cumberland County 9 March 1771.[1]
- County Seat: Bedford
- Neighboring Counties: Bedford County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Blair (north) • Fulton (east) • Somerset (west) • Allegany County, Maryland (south) • Huntingdon (northeast) and • Cambria (northwest)
Boundary Changes
The original Bedford County, sometimes called "Mother Bedford," encompassed a huge area when it was created in 9 March 1771. Later counties which were originally part of Bedford County include: [3]
- parts of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Clearfield
- all of Blair, Cambria, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Somerset, Washington, Westmoreland
- most of Centre, Huntingdon, Indiana
Bedford County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
BillionGraves:
- Comps Cemetery, Southhampton
- Cooks Mill Cemetery, Londonderry
- Lybarger Cemetery, Bedford
- Madley Cemetery, Bedford
- Palo Alto Hill-Top Cemetery, Londonderry
Census
Value, Content, and Search Tips
See the United States Census page to learn about the value, content, and search tips of census records of the United States. The United States Census page also points to nationwide and statewide record sets available online and at archives and libraries.
Census Strategy: Start with State-wide Records
Free indexes and transcriptions of Bedford county census records abound, but many of these resources are divided into separate files by borough or township. Since townships are relatively small, and since people sometimes crossed township borders without having to move very far at all, it is often useful to begin your search in a statewide index in case an ancestor appears in an unexpected township. Since statewide indexes are not listed on this county page, check the Pennsylvania Census page to see if a statewide index or database is available for the year in question. If for some reason you can't access a statewide collection or if you searched it and can't find an ancestor, visit the United States Census page for listings of nationwide indexes, or return here for links to Bedford County resources.
General Resources for Bedford County Censuses
USGenNet has the simplest listing of transcribed Bedford County U.S. census records from USGenWeb from 1790-1860. Also includes an 1890 Veteran's Schedule.
Bedford County Pennsylvania Census Records links to census transcriptions of various townships in various years that were compiled for PA-Roots.
Bedford County, Pennsylvania Census Resources from CensusFinder links to sites containing census data from 1790-1850 and 1890.
Census Resources by Year
- 1784 - Returns of Taxables for the Counties of Bedford (1773 to 1784), Huntingdon (1788), Westmoreland (1783, 1786), Fayette (1785, 1786), Allegheny (1791), Washington (1786) and Census of Bedford (1784) and Westmoreland (1783). (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Vol. 22). Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
- 1790 Federal Census of Bedford County is a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1800 Federal Census of Bedford Countyis a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1810 Federal Census of Bedford Countyis a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1820 Federal Census of Bedford County is a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1830 Federal Census of Bedford County is a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1840 Federal Census of Bedford Countyis a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1850 Federal Census of Bedford Countyis a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1860 Federal Census of Bedford Countyis a free resource from USGenWeb containing both an index and a transcript of the original census pages.
- 1890 Federal Census of Bedford County, Veteran's Scheduleis a free resource from USGenWeb containing a transcript of the original Veteran's Schedule pages, arranged by enumeration district. Includes a key to the various enumeration districts and a listing of seven enumeration districts that are not included.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page. Finding Church Records at Other RepositoriesAdditional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains church records of:
- Bedford: St. John's United Church of Christ
- Fishertown: Centre Lutheran Church
- Londonderry: Wills Creek Charge
- Pavia: Zion United Church of Christ
- Saxton: St. Matthew Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Contains church records of:
- The Bedford County Genealogical Project contains an extensive list of churches in the county. Many of them include locations and brief histories, but few contain records of members or sacramental records.
Catholic
The first Catholic church was built in 1817 wnd is still standing. [4]
- "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronolgy, map, county-by-county information.
Lutheran
The first protestant church in the county was built in 1770 by Lutherans and Reformeds, though the first services were held in 1758 in the fort. The church in Schellsburg built in 1806, is the oldest one in the county. [5]
Quaker
In 1793 the Quakers built a church on Dunning Creek. [6]
- 1800s-1900s - Pennsylvania Quaker Records: Warrington, York County, Little Brittain, Lancaster County, Centre, Centre County, West Branch, Clearfield County, Dunnings Creek, Bedford County. n.p. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Court Records
Bedford County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Bedford County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Courtesy of the Pioneer Library, Bedford County Historical Society:
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Bedford County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[7]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[8] For the Bedford County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Bedford County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphan's Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[9]
For Bedford County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
- 1771-1900 - Bedford County Orphans Court Index 1771-1900 at Bedford County Historical Society website.
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
This page contains information on histories of Bedford County. However, histories of Pennsylvania mentioned on the Pennsylvania History page can also yield excellent information on migration patterns and settlers of early counties.
Why Use Histories?
For information about why published histories are valuable to the genealogist or what kinds of information they contain, see United States History.
Finding Histories
Histories Available Online
Gilchrist, Annie M. 1955. FamilySearch Books Online
FamilySearch Books Online. History of Bedford, Somerset and Fulton Counties ... 1884. Chicago: Waterman, Watkins & Co.
Published Histories
WorldCat lists over 180 titles within the subject Bedford (Pa.) History.
Land and Property
Land records in Bedford County began in 1771. These records are filed with the Register and Recorder office in Bedford, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- Bedford County offers online access to images. Fees apply.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1771–1905 Deed Book. FHL films 331362-331422
- 1771–1963 Mortgage Book, 1830-1900; Index, 1771-1963. FHL films 331423-331433
Land Warrants 1771-1893
- Land Warrant Lists Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Volume 25 at Bedford County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images from the 1861 Map of Bedford County, PA Surveyed, Drawn & Published by E. L. Walker which can be used in conjunction with the 1860 census to help pinpoint your ancestors. These images show major landowners on the date of publication. While the physical maps are in the public domain, the images we have taken of the maps belong to us and are not to be used to commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attribute to Ancestor Tracks.
Military
Online resources available through the Pioneer Library, Bedford County Historical Society:
- Civil War Exemptions Index, Bedford County, Pennsylvania
- Military Pension Files, Bedord County, Pennsylvania (Includes soldiers who served in the Civil War, Revolutionary War, War of 1812 and the Spanish-American War).
Revolutionary War
Local men served in the Bedford County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County.
Bedford County men also served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment,[10], possibly the 3rd Pennsylvania Regiment,[10] and the 8th Pennsylvania Regiment.[11]
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
- Naturalization Papers: Bedford County Naturalization Papers Index at the Bedford County Historical Society website. Free online index; records can be ordered for a small fee.
Naturalization records available for Bedford County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1802-1934 Naturalization Papers FHL film 1465908 (first of 5 films)
- 1802-1934 Naturalization Papers FHL film 1465908 (first of 5 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Bedford County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Bedford County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
- USGenWeb Bedford County Newspapers. Information regarding newspapers in the county.
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers on line for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- USGenWeb Bedford County Newspaper Articles
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Bedford County.
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- Bedford County Historical Society Online Obituary Index - the place to start. Free online index; copies can be ordered for a small fee.
- USGenWeb Bedford County Obituaries
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Bedford County]
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Claar, Archie, edited and indexed by Jan Oberle and James D. Boor, Obituary Clippings [in Blair and Bedford Counties, Pennsylvania] (Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania:Hoenstine's, 1990-1996) FHL book 974.87 V4c volume 1-66 Photocopy of newspaper clippings. Each volume contains an index.
- Mitchell, Caryl A., Extracts from the Bedford Gazette, Beford County, Pennsylvania : September 7, 1832 - September 9, 1836 (Westminster, Maryland:Family Line Publications, 1998) FHL book 974.871/B2 B38m
Occupations
Indentured Servants
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Bedford County, Pennsylvania (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
- Alms House Records at Bedford County Historical Society website. Free online index; records can be ordered for a small fee.
Probate Records
Probate matters in Bedford County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Bedford County Only:
- 1771-1906-Bedford County Probate Records
- 1771-1906-Bedford County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfim
- 1771-1906 Will Book FHL film 331357 (first of 5 films)-Index included
- 1771-1906 Will Book FHL film 331357 (first of 5 films)-Index included
Will Abstracts
- Complete Transcribed Wills for Bedford County Not complete, but does contain many wills for residents of Bedford County.
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Bedford County Courthouse
200 S Juliana St.
Bedford, PA 15522-1714
Phone: (814) 623-4812
Clerk of the Court/Orphans' Court
Phone: (814) 623-4833
Prothonotary
Phone: (814) 623-4833
Fax: (814) 623-4831
email: bcproth@pennswoods.net
The courthouse houses records of county births and deaths (1893-1905) and Marriage records (1885- to the present). The Office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse and is a good place to search for divorce and civil case records.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Bedford County, Pennsylvania is the Bedford Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Bedford County Library
240 South Wood St.
Bedford, PA 15522
Phone: (814) 623-5010
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 7 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2 PM
Sunday - CLOSED
Societies
Bedford County Historical Society
6441 Lincoln Highway
Bedford, PA 15522
814-623-2011
Email: bedfordhistory@embarqmail.com
FamilySearch Wiki page: Bedford County Historical Society
Library has collected 4500 family histories. Website includes free indexes to Alms House Records, Civil War Exemptions Index, Divorce Index, Naturalization Papers Index, Obituary Index, Orphans Court Index (1771-1900), and Military Pension Files (Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Civil War, and Spanish American War) of local residents. The Society offers a look-up service to retrieve the actual documents indexed in these databases; family research; court house research; cemetery look-ups; and gravestone photographs.
Taxation
- 1773-1784 - Returns of Taxables for the Counties of Bedford (1773 to 1784), Huntingdon (1788), Westmoreland (1783, 1786), Fayette (1785, 1786), Allegheny (1791), Washington (1786) and Census of Bedford (1784) and Westmoreland (1783). (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Vol. 22). Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
- 1779 - Cumberland Valley Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1781-1782 - Bedford Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1788-1789 - Elk Lick Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1791-1793 - Colerain Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1791-1793 - Cumberland Valley Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1792-1793 - Woodberry Township, Bedford County, Pennsylvania, Tax Records at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
Courtesy of the Pioneer Library, Bedford County Historical Society:
Bedford County Commissioner's Records: Includes minutes, assessment books, tax records, election returns & miscellaneous records.
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Births
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1894-1905, 1941-1963 - Bedford County Birth Index 1894-1905 and 1941-1963 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[12]
Marriages
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Bedford County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. A free online index is available on the Bedford County Historical Society website. You can also search an index onsite at the Prothonotary's office. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Deaths
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1890-1905 - Bedford County Death Index 1890-1905 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[12]
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bedford County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Bedford County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- Bedford County Genealogy Project by PA-Roots contains several types of records, including cemetery, census, church, history, military, and taxation.
- Linkpendium - Bedford County
- USGenWeb project
- Family History Library Catalog
Bedford County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
Bedford County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ Pennsylvania line: a research guide to Pennsylvania genealogy and local history, 1990 ed. (Laughlintown, Pa.: Southwest Pennsylvania Genealogical Services, 1990), [FHL book 974.8 D27p 1990].
- ↑ Anne M. Gilchrist, A Brief History of Bedford Pennsylvania: from Pioneer Times to the Present Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008; digital copy of original published: Bedford, Penn.: Inquirer Print, 1955), 13. FHL digital copy.
- ↑ Anne M. Gilchrist, A Brief History of Bedford Pennsylvania: from Pioneer Times to the Present Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008; digital copy of original published: Bedford, Penn.: Inquirer Print, 1955), 13. FHL digital copy.
- ↑ Anne M. Gilchrist, A Brief History of Bedford Pennsylvania: from Pioneer Times to the Present Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 2008; digital copy of original published: Bedford, Penn.: Inquirer Print, 1955), 13. FHL digital copy.
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/accesssed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "8th Pennsylvania Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8th_Pennsylvania_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/86/Igipennsylvaniabb.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 23:46.
- This page has been accessed 4,789 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




