Bedford Holy Trinity, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png BedfordshireGotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes 

Guide to Bedford Holy Trinity, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bedford Holy Trinity, Bedfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bedford Borough
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Bedford PLU
Registration District Bedford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1860
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bedford
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEDFORD, a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the county of Bedford, of which it is the capital, 50 miles (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Moravians; as well as the Primitive Episcopal or Reformed Church of England. [1]

Also see A Topographical Dictionary of England [2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241196.

Church records

Bedford Holy Trinity, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Bedford Holy Trinity, Bedfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1841-1847
1860-1895


NBI



1841-1851

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

Bedford

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851

[1] Vision of Britain

Websites

Bedford on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72), Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 188-194.. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,269 times.