Bedingfield, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Parish History

BEDINGFIELD or Bedingfeld, a scattered village, near the source of a rivulet, 4 miles S.S.E. of Eye and N. by E. of Debenham, has in its parish 312 souls, and 1753a. Ir. 7p. of fertile and well-wooded land, in the manors of Bedingfield and Bucks Green. Sir H. R. P. Bedingfeld, Bart, is lord of the former, and H. D. Hemsworth, Esq., of the latter; but the soil belongs chiefly to John L. Bedingfeld, Esq., Lord Henniker, J. Freeman, Esq., and the Shulver, Percy, and a few other families. The Bedingfelds, of Norfolk, took their name from the parish, and were formerly seated here. The manor was held by Snape Priory, and was granted first to Cardinal Wolsey, and afterwards to Thomas, Duke of Norfolk, and in the 7th of Edward VI. to Thomas and George Golding. It passed soon after to the Bedingfelds, who were seated at Fleming* Hall, an old moated house, now occupied by a farmer. Bedingfield Hall, the property of Lord Henniker, is another ancient farm house, still encompassed by a large moat, which was cleansed in 1821, and had a draw bridge till about 20 years ago. The Church (St. Mary) is an ancient fabric, and the benefice is a discharged rectory....[1]

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Bedingfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Bedingfield is in Hoxne District. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Bedingfield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Bedingfield, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1542-1749

NBI

1538-1899

The Parish Registers begin in 1538.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Bedingfield.   See Suffolk Church Records for further details.  Bedingfield lies on the border between the Archdeaconry of Suffolk and Sudbury.

Census records

There are census records available for Bedingfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Bedingfield Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Bedingfield was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District..  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details. Note: Bedingfield shares a border with the Archdeaconry of Sudbury.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain - Bedingfield, is a parish in Hoxne district, Suffolk county; it is 4 miles SSE of Eye railway station, and 5½ miles N E of Debenham.......[5]

Websites

References

  1. William White, 1855, [Suffolk Gazetteers|History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk], page 377-378
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  5. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 16 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,887 times.