Bedminster St John the Baptist, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bedminster St John the Baptist, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bedminster St John the Baptist, Somerset
Former St John The Baptist Bedminster.jpg
Former St John The Baptist Bedminster
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City; Hartcliffe and Bedminster
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bedminster PLU
Registration District Bedminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1643; Separate registers exist for Bishopsworth beginning 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598; Separate records exist for Bishopsworth beginning 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre-1845 - Bath and Wells; Post-1844 - Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEDMINSTER (St. John the Baptist), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the county of the city of Bristol, and partly in the hundred of Hartcliffe with Bedminster, E. division of Somerset, 1½ mile (S. by W.) from Bristol, containing the tythings of Bishport and Knowle. St. Paul's district church. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

The former parish church of St John the Baptist was destroyed by fire. The church was burnt out on 24th November 1940 when it was hit by an incendiary bomb, the remains of the church were cleared away in 1967 leaving a small park.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bedminster St John the Baptist, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BEDMINSTER ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1599-1624, 1806-1830
1599-1623, 1806-1830
1599-1624, 1806-1830
MARR
1599-1623, 1709-1896

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288785.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bedminster/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 12 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 3,344 times.