Bedminster St Paul, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Bedminster St Paul, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bedminster St Paul, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City; Hartcliffe and Bedminster
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bedminster PLU
Registration District Bedminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1852
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre-1845 - Bath and Wells; Post-1844 - Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol in the Deanery of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bedminster (St. Paul) adistrict church, in the later English style, with a tower, was erected in 1831. At Bishport is a district church dedicated to St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Methodists, of which that belonging to the Independents is one of the most handsome and spacious buildings of the kind in the kingdom. The poor law union of Bedminster comprises twenty-three parishes and places.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bedminster St Paul, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BEDMINSTER ST PAUL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1599-1849

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288785.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Bedminster/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-199. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 March 2011.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  3. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,391 times.