Beeston, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Beeston, Nottinghamshire
Beeston St john the Baptist Nottinghamshire.jpg
Beeston St john the Baptist Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEESTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Nottingham with the hamlet of Beeston-Ryelands.[1]

Additional information:

Beeston St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish which included Beeston Ryelands.

Beeston may also refer to the later parish development in this suburb of Nottingham. For a history of Beeston see Beeston wikipedia  which includes a history of the Methodist church in this parish. Church history

Beeston St John the Baptist ( known as St John) is a 15th century church rebuilt in 1842 by Scott and Moffat and enlarged in 1876. It has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also St Mary the Virgin Beeston and 1861 church of St Michael and All Angels Beeston and Stapelford British Listed Building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Beeston, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BEESTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1812


Beeston St John the Baptist

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1943, 1949-1955 Marriages 1559-1954 Burials 1558-1936 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Beeston

Beeston St John the Baptist.  An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1778, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 10-15 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Court Records

Beeston Executions 1832. Some particulars of the life, trial, behaviour of George Beck, George Hearson, and John Armstrong, who were exectued on Wed 1 February. 1832.  Original at Nottinghashire Archives, Ref DD 763/8, page 48-50, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 117, pages 48-50, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 September 2014, at 15:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,628 times.