Belaugh, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Belaugh, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belaugh, Norfolk
St Peter, Belaugh, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx

Belaugh is a small village (population 105) that occupies a bend in the River Bure in Norfolk, England - within The Broads National Park. It is accessible only via the road between Hoveton and Coltishall. It contains no pubs, bars or shops. The main civic features are the church of St Peter Belaugh and the Old School, which also belongs to the church and is used for parish council meetings and for celebrating the harvest festival. The local broad is Belaugh Broad. Most of the land around Belaugh - around 850 acres - is owned by the Trafford family, who are Lords of the Manor.

The Domesday Book of 1086 contains one of the earliest recorded mentions of the village, at the time known as Belaga. Other records from around the time name it as Belihagh, Belaw, Bilhagh or Bilough, names based on combinations of Norse, Danish and Anglo-Saxon words that collectively mean 'a dwelling place by the water'.

For local government purposes the village and civil parish is within the Broadland District.

BELAUGH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 1¾ mile (S. E.) from Coltishall. [1]

Resources

Church Records

Belaugh, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[7]
Belaugh, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1812
1538-1754
1564-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1818 Undefined 1538-1857, 1862-1891 Undefined 1538-1818
JOIN
1757-1837

NTA 1742-1812
1757-1891 (Banns)
1741-1812

The registers date from 1538.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 249

Parish registers Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Item 15 Baptisms 1538-1708 Marriages 1538-1704 Burials 1564-1689 Item 16 Baptisms 1709-1743 Marriages 1714-1739 Burials 1695-1742 Item 17 Baptisms and burials 1741-1812 Marriages 1742-1754 Item 18 Marriages 1754-1812 Banns 1757-1857 Item 19 Marriages 1814-1837 Item 20 Banns 1862-1891 FHL BRITISH Film 1596069 Items 15-20

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1634, 1665-1811 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Burials 1600-1608, 1623-1634, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 5

Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 199-203. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,177 times.