Bell County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties B go to Bell County

Guide to Bell County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today



Bell County, Texas
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 15, 1891
County Seat Belton
Courthouse
Address Bell County Courthouse
550 E 2nd Street PO Box 480
Belton, TX 76513
Phone: 254.933.5174
Bell County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

 

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and land records from 1850,
military records and school census; Clerk District Court
has divorce records from 1850, court and naturalization
records[1]

Quick History

Settled, abandoned and resettled several times due to Indian troubles.
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Bell_County,_Texas


Parent County

22 January 1850: Bell County was created from Milam County. [1]

The county was named for Peter H. Bell, (1812-1898). Peter Hansborough Bell, governor of Texas, was born on May 12, 1812, in Spotsylvania County, Virginia. He engaged in business in Petersburg until he left Virginia to fight for the independence of Texas.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1891--The treasurer's office of the Bell County Courthouse caught fire, March 15, 1891.  Probably arson. No record loss. [2]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bartlett | Belton | Copperas Cove | Harker Heights | Killeen | Little River-Academy | Morgan's Point Resort | Nolanville | Temple | Troy

Towns

Holland | Rogers

Village

Salado

Military

Fort Hood

Unincorporated Communties

Cyclone | Ding Dong | Heidenheimer | Pendleton | White Hall

Neighboring Counties

Burnet | Coryell | Falls | Lampasas | McLennan | Milam | Williamson

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Epodunk

Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources


Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18604,799
18709,771103.6%
188020,518110.0%
189033,37762.7%
190045,53536.4%
191049,1868.0%
192046,412−5.6%
193050,0307.8%
194044,863−10.3%
195073,82464.6%
196094,09727.5%
1970124,48332.3%
1980157,88926.8%
1990191,08821.0%
2000237,97424.5%
2010310,23530.4%
Est. 2011315,19632.4%

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bell County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txbell.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bell County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Societies and Libraries 

Lena Armstrong Public Library (City of Belton)
http://www.ci.belton.tx.us/index.aspx?nid=71
kkroll@ci.belton.tx.us
301 E. 1st Avenue
Belton, Texas 76513 [ MAP ]
(254) 933-5830
(254) 933-5831 fax

Harker Heights Public Library
http://www.ci.harker-heights.tx.us/default.aspx?name=lib.welcome
400 Indian Trail
Harker Heights, TX 76548 [ MAP ]
254-953-5491

Killeen Family History Library
(The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)
1410 S 2nd St
Killeen, Bell, TX 76541 [ MAP ]
Phone: 254-526-2918

Killeen Public Library
http://www.ci.killeen.tx.us/index.php?section=71
205 E. Church Ave
Killeen, Texas 76541 [ MAP ]
(254) 501-8990

Temple Public Library
http://www.youseemore.com/TemplePL/default.asp
100 West Adams Ave
Temple TX 76501 [ MAP ]
Circulation Desk: (254) 298-5556
Reference Desk: (254) 298-5702

Temple College
Hubert M. Dawson Library
library@templejc.edu
http://www.templejc.edu/library/library.html
2600 South First Street
Temple, Texas 76504 [ MAP ]
(254) 298-8426
or (800)460-4636 ext 8426 (Texas only)

University of Mary Hardin Baylor
Townsend Memorial Library
900 College St
Belton, TX 76513 [ MAP ]
http://umhblib.umhb.edu/
library@umhb.edu
(254) 295-4637 *


Societies

Bell County Historical Commission
http://www.bellcountytx.com/Historical/index.htm
PO Box 712
Belton TX 76513-0712
(254) 933-5917
hist.comm@co.bell.tx.us
Office is in the restored Bell County Courthouse (Belton)

Central Texas Genealogical Society
http://ctgs.org/
West Waco Library and Genealogy Center
5301 Bosque Blvd Suite 275
Waco, Texas 76710 [ MAP ]
Email: ctgs@ctgs.org


East Bell County Genealogical Society
http://www.rootsweb.com/~txebcgs/
P.O. Box 1493
Temple, TX 76503
Meeting Location: Temple Public Library (McLane Room)

Salado Historical Society
http://www.saladohistoricalsociety.com/
Salado Historical Society
PO Box 251
Salado, Texas, 76571

Sons of the American Revolution
Heart of Texas Chapter
http://www.rootsweb.com/~txhotsar/

Sons of Confederate Veterans
Major Robert M. White Camp #1250
http://www.scvtemple.com
Location: Cotton Patch Cafe, Temple Mall

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bell County, Texas. Page 659 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. GenDisasters.com Belton, TX Courthouse Fire, Mar 1891 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/7346/belton-tx-courthouse-fire-mar-1891

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 17,988 times.