Bellingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorthumberlandGotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Bellingham, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bellingham, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Bellingham PLU
Registration District Bellingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bellingham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BELLINGHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, and the head of a union, in the N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Charlton East and West Quarters, Leemailing, The Nook, and Tarretburn Quarter. There is a place of worship for Seceders from the Scottish Church; also a Roman Catholic chapel. Bellingham comprises thirty-seven parishes and places.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/21 1762-1846 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however images for the Parish Register Transcripts have not yet been loaded and await major engineering in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Bellingham: Records of baptisms 1684-1960, marriages 1754-1966 and burials 1687-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1684-1875 and marriages 1754-1880 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. An indexed transcript of baptisms 1684-1851, marriages 1754-1851 & burials 1687-1851 for Bellingham (microfiche PR201) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society, and this is also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monument inscriptions for is also available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Nonconformist Records
  •  Bellingham, St Oswald [Hesleyside] (Roman Catholic): Baptisms 1794-1941, marriages 1941-1993 and deaths 1881-1966. Transcripts of baptisms 1794-1837 and deaths 1775-1790 are available at Northumberland Collections Service and at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept; and the I.G.I. includes births/baptisms 1794-1837.
  •  Northumberland Collections Service also has the following records for nonconformist churches located in this parish:
  •  Bellingham United Free Church Circuit (Methodist) - Baptisms 1892-1921
  •  Bellingham (Presbyterian) - Births/baptisms 1803-1988.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Bellingham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2014, at 21:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,024 times.