Beltrami County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Beltrami  County

Guide to Beltrami County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Beltrami County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Beltrami County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 28, 1866
County Seat Bemidji
Courthouse
Address Beltrami County Courthouse
619 Beltrami Ave NW
Bemidji, MN 56601-3041
Phone: 218.759.4174
Beltrami County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Court Administrator Customer Service has birth, marriage
and death records from 1896. Clerk Courts has divorce records from 1951,
probate and court records.
Recorder Office has military records.
Historical Society has land records prior to 1969. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1866--Beltrami County was created 28 February 1866 from unorganized territory, Itasca, Pembina (Old), and Polk Counties.

County seat: Bemidji [2]

  • For a brief history of how Beltrami County was named, click here, then select Beltrami County.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Minnesota County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Minnesota County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Bemidji | Blackduck | Funkley | Kelliher | Solway | Tenstrike | Turtle River | Wilton

Townships

Alaska Township | Battle Township | Bemidji Township | Benville Township | Birch Township
Buzzle Township | Cormant Township | Durand Township | Eckles Township | Frohn Township
Grant Valley Township | Hagali Township | Hamre Township | Hines Township | Hornet Township
Jones Township | Kelliher Township | Lammers Township | Langor Township | Lee Township
Liberty Township | Maple Ridge Township | Minnie Township | Moose Lake Township
Nebish Township | Northern Township | O'Brien Township | Port Hope Township | Quiring Township
Roosevelt Township | Shooks Township | Shotley Township | Spruce Grove Township
Steenerson Township | Sugar Bush Township | Summit Township | Taylor Township
Ten Lake Township | Turtle Lake Township | Turtle River Township | Waskish Township
Woodrow Township

Unorganized

Brook Lake | Lower Red Lake | North Beltrami | Shotley Brook | Upper Red Lake

CPDs

Little Rock | Ponemah | Red Lake | Redby

Other

Pinewood | Puposky | Shooks

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Beltrami – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Beltrami County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnbeltrami.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Beltrami County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Minnesota Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Beltrami County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 17:47.
  • This page has been accessed 7,407 times.