Benewah County, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Idaho go to Benewah County

Guide to Benewah County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Saint Maries River, Benewah County, Idaho

Idaho Wildlife Management Units.png Idaho
Online Records




Quick start:


Benewah County, Idaho
Map
Map of Idaho highlighting Benewah County
Location in the state of Idaho
Map of the U.S. highlighting Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 23, 1915
County Seat St. Maries
Courthouse
IDbenewahcourthouse.jpg
Address Benewah County Courthouse<br>701 W College Ave.<br>St. Maries, ID 83861<br>Phone: 208-245-2234<br>Benewah County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Benewah County Courthouse[1]
701 W College Ave.
St. Maries, ID 83861
Phone: 208-245-2234

County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, court and land records from 1915.[2]

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Benewah County, Idaho

Parent County

23 January 1915: Benewah County, Idaho was created from Kootenai County.

  • Named after a chief of the Coeur d'Alene Indian tribe. [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Benewah County, Idaho entries with names, images, or information.


Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Benewah County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Saint Maries. [4]

Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries in Benewah County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Benewah County, Idaho Cemetery Records.

For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
19206,997
19306,371−8.9%
19407,33215.1%
19506,173−15.8%
19606,036−2.2%
19706,2303.2%
19808,29233.1%
19907,937−4.3%
20009,17115.5%
sources:[5][6]



For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.

Church History and Records

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
  • The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Benewah County, Idaho prior to 1950.

County Commissioners' Records

The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.

Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.

Court Records

Some of the early court records of Benewah County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Benewah County courthouse in St Maries, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.

Some of the Benewah County court records that have been microfilmed are:

  • Journal, 1915-1930
  • Power of attorney, 1890-1968


Judgment Books

(Includes divorces, probate documents, civil and criminal actions and many other court actions.)

  • Judgments, 1911-1930; general index, 1911-1930


Miscellaneous records are outlined in the Miscellaneous Series betow

Directories

The Idaho State Archives has in its collections copies of many city, county, state and regional directories.

History

The Idaho State Historical Society holds archival materials and photographs on the history of Benewah County.

Land and Property

Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Benewah County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in St Maries, Idaho.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Benewah County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed some Benewah&nbsp;County records pertaining to land and property. The following can be viewed in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:

  • Deeds, 1890-1909; general index, 1890-1948
  • Patents, 1897-1919; general index, 1897-1985

The following may also be helpful:

Abstract titles, Spokane County, Washington which includes titles from Benewah County

Maps

Idbenewah.jpg

Military History and Records

World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Benewah County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452220) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.

Miscellaneous Series

Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.

Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Benewah County. The originals are held in the Benewah County courthouse in St Maries, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.

Newspapers

Current
Historical

The Idaho State Archives has in its collection copies of many Idaho newspapers, among which are newspapers from Plummer and St Maries.

Probate Records

Any existing original probate records for Benewah County should be housed in its county courthouse in St Maries, Idaho. These can be accessed by visiting the courthouse.

The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed copies of many of the early probate records of Benewah County which can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City also has copies of early Benewah County probate records, and the following can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:

Taxation

Any existing tax assessment rolls for Benewah County should be in the courthouse in Saint Maries and would need to be accessed by visiting there.

Vital Records

Birth

Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Benewah County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Recordssection under the subject Idaho for more details.

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has made available online Idaho births and christenings 1856-1965. Among these are 572 Benewah County births.

Marriage

Over 1200 marriages, 1913-1939, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

From the Family History Library's online Idaho Marriages 1878-1898, 1903-1948, are 231 Benewah County marriages.

Deaths

Deaths occurring in Benewah County after 1915 are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.

Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, the BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.

A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is the US Genweb Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.

See also the Family History Library's online Idaho deaths and burials 1907-1965, where there are 314 deaths recorded for Benewah County.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.

  • Plummer Public Library
    800 D St
    Plummer, ID 83851
    Phone: (208) 686-1812
    Website
  • St Maries Public Library
    822 College Ave
    St Maries, ID 83861
    Phone: (208) 245-3732
    Website
  • Benewah District Library
    4345 Fox Rd
    Tensed, ID 83870
    Phone: (208) 274-3002

Family History Centers


Websites

References

  1. Official website of the State of Idaho
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benewah County, Idaho page 177, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
  5. census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
  6. quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 13,007 times.